Legislative Regulation Review Committee

While the Legislative Regulation Review Committee has been in existence since 1972, it was a November 24, 1982 amendment to the State's Constitution which provided the authority for the General Assembly to adopt the current structure of the committee.

It is the responsibility of the Legislative Regulation Review Committee to review regulations proposed by state agencies and approve them before regulations are implemented. This position was adopted since all regulations have the force of law, and it is important that regulations do not contravene the legislative intent, or conflict with current state or federal laws, or state or federal constitutions.

This joint bipartisan committee is made up of 14 members: 6 senators and 8 representatives divided equally by party. In keeping with the bipartisan nature of the committee the chairmanship of the committee changes every two years. Pairing either a Senate Democrat and a House Republican or a Senate Republican and a House Democrat as co‑chairs.



  Committee Membership   

 Print List

 Print List

District Position Name  Website Party
S30 Co-Chair Miner, Craig http://www.ctsenaterepublicans.com/home-Miner R
049 Co-Chair Johnson, Susan M. http://www.housedems.ct.gov/Johnson D
S14 Ranking Member Maroney, James J. http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/maroney D
105 Ranking Member Klarides-Ditria, Nicole http://www.cthousegop.com/Klarides-Ditria/ R
058 Member Arnone, Tom http://www.housedems.ct.gov/arnone D
S36 Member Kasser, Alex http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/kasser D
032 Member Carpino, Christie M. http://www.cthousegop.com/Carpino/ R
S21 Member Kelly, Kevin C. http://www.ctsenaterepublicans.com/home-kelly R
S17 Member Logan, George S. http://www.ctsenaterepublicans.com/home-Logan R
069 Member O Neill, Arthur J. http://www.cthousegop.com/ONeill/ R
S19 Member Osten, Catherine A. http://www.senatedems.ct.gov/Osten D
036 Member Palm, Christine http:\\www.housedems.ct.gov/palm D
123 Member Rutigliano, David http://www.cthousegop.com/Rutigliano/ R
079 Member Ziogas, Christopher http://www.housedems.ct.gov/Ziogas D


Regulation Review Committee
  • Committee Administrator: Kirstin L. Breiner
  • State Capitol Building, Room 011
  • Hartford, CT 06106
  •   (860) 240‑0580
  •   Privacy Notice – Important 
  •   Privacy Notice – Important 
  • Public Hearing Testimony and Other Written Submissions

    Please be aware that all submitted testimony is public record. Depending upon the information you supply, this may reveal some or all of the following: Email address, physical address, phone number, name, age, and other personal information. Mail and FAX submissions are scanned and linked on the Connecticut General Assembly website.

    This information would also be available to be found using internet search engines.

  •     2019‑2020 Subcommittee Assignments 
  •    Committee Calendar

U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs - Testimony of State Representative Arthur O’Neill