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NOTICE TO READERS 

 
 
This report provides brief highlights of public and special acts 

affecting seniors enacted during both the regular session and the May 9 
Special Session.  For separate descriptions of the acts that passed by 
session, see OLR Reports 2002-R-0513 for the regular session and 2002-
R-0732 for the Special Session. 

 
Not all provisions of the acts are included here. Complete summaries 

of all public acts passed in the 2002 sessions will be available in the fall 
when OLR's Public Act Summary book is published; some are already on 
OLR's webpage 
(http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp). 

 
Readers may obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the 

Connecticut State Library, the House Clerk's Office, or the General 
Assembly's website (http: //www. cga. state. ct. us/default. asp).  

 
Unless otherwise indicated, the acts take effect on October 1, 2002. 

http://www.cga.state.ct.us/2002/olrdata/age/rpt/2002-r-0513.htm
http://prdiis1/2002/olrdata/age/rpt/2002-R-0732.htm
http://prdiis1/2002/olrdata/age/rpt/2002-R-0732.htm
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/olr/publicactsummaries.asp
http://www.cga.state.ct.us/default.asp
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PRESCRIPTION DRUGS 

 
ConnPACE  
 

The Connecticut 
Pharmaceutical Assistance 
Contract to the Elderly and the 
Disabled (ConnPACE) program 
helps low-income seniors and 
people with disabilities who do 
not qualify for Medicaid pay for 
prescription drugs. 

A new law increases the $12 
per-prescription copayment for 
some people who enter the 
ConnPACE program on or after 
September 1, 2002, based on 
their annual incomes, marital 
status, and the date they first 
become eligible.  Generally, it 
retains the $12 copayment for 
existing and future participants 
with low incomes. But someone 
who is in the program before 
September 1, 2002 and then 
reapplies after a period of 
ineligibility will have to pay the 
same copayments as those who 
first join the program on or after 
September 1, 2002.  Table 1 
shows the new copayments for all 
participants. 

 
Table 1: New ConnPACE 

Copayments  
 

Eligibility 
Start Date: 

Annual 
Income 

Copayment 

 Single Married  
Before 9/1/02 Under 

$20,000 
Under 
$27,100 

$12 

On or after 
9/1/02 

Under 
$15,900 
 
$15,900 - 
$20,000 

Under 
$21,500 
 
$21,500 to 
$27,100 

$12 
 
 
$15 

Upon federal 
waiver 
approval* 

Over 
$20,000 

Over 
$27,100 $20 

*On April 1, 2002, the ConnPACE income limits 
increased to $20,000 and $27,100 for single and 
married people, respectively, as a result of 2001 
legislation.  That act also requires these income caps 
to rise to $25,800 and $34,800 if DSS receives 
federal approval for a Medicaid waiver. (PA 01-2, 
June Special Session). (However, the department’s 
waiver request asks for an income cap of 300% of 
the federal poverty level (FPL), which at this point is 
higher than the caps the act sets). The federal 
government has not yet approved the waiver. 

 
The income ranges used to set 

the copayment level will increase 
annually by the Social Security 
inflation adjustment.  (PA 02-7, 
May 9 Special Session, §§ 15 and 
16, effective September 1, 2002) 

Another act, further discussed 
below, exempts Anthem-Blue 
Cross demutualization payments 
and stock distributions which 
many seniors recently received 
from being counted as income for 
ConnPACE (SA 02-1, effective 
upon passage). 
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Other Changes in Prescription 
Assistance Programs 

 
Unless otherwise indicated, 

the following changes affect 
prescription drug assistance 
under Medicaid, ConnPACE, 
State-Administered General 
Assistance (SAGA), town general 
assistance (GA, which applies 
only to Norwich), and 
Connecticut AIDS drug 
assistance. 

Prescription Drug Prior 
Authorization.  By law, DSS 
must establish a prior 
authorization plan for 
prescription drugs dispensed 
under its pharmacy programs.  
Prior authorization is required for 
initial prescriptions for (1) brand-
name drugs for which a 
chemically-equivalent generic is 
available, (2) drugs costing more 
than $500 per month, and (3) 
early refills. As required by law, 
DSS submitted its plan to the 
three legislative committees of 
cognizance. Although one 
committee rejected the plan, it is 
considered approved and is 
scheduled to go into effect later 
this year or early next year. 

A new law, passed in the May 
9 Special Session, specifically 
requires the DSS commissioner 
to implement the recently 
approved prior authorization 
plan, but some of its provisions 
differ from the approved plan or 
are not entirely clear.  The new 
law requires prior authorization 
for less than a 15-day supply of 
any initial brand name 

maintenance drug for which 
there is a chemically equivalent 
generic substitute, while the 
approved plan had exempted 
these smaller quantities.  The 
new law seems to exempt 
atypical antipsychotic drugs that 
the patient is already taking 
when the pharmacist receives the 
prescription.  (PA 02-7, § 50, May 
9 Special Session, effective upon 
passage)  And another law 
passed in the special session 
(described in more detail below) 
appears to exempt mental-health 
related and anti-retroviral (HIV 
and AIDS) drugs that are not on 
the to-be developed preferred 
drug list from prior authorization 
(PA 02-1, § 121, May 9 Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2002).  
DSS is currently reviewing how 
to implement the provisions of 
the prior authorization plan and 
the new legislation.   

Preferred Drug List: 
Medicaid Pharmaceutical And 
Therapeutics Committee.  A 
new law establishes an 11-
member Medicaid 
Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee in DSS and requires 
DSS to adopt a preferred drug 
list when this committee 
recommends one.  The committee 
must review all drugs on the list 
at least every 12 months, to the 
extent possible. It can 
recommend that drugs be added 
or taken off the list.  

Any drug not on the preferred 
drug list will require prior 
authorization, apparently except 
for mental health-related and 
antiretroviral (HIV and AIDS) 
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drugs.  The committee can make 
recommendations to DSS 
regarding prior authorization of 
any Medicaid-covered drugs.  
Medicaid recipients can appeal 
the preferred drug list 
determinations through a 
department fair hearing.  

The committee must ensure 
that drug manufacturers who 
agree to provide supplemental 
rebates to the state are given the 
opportunity to present evidence 
that supports adding their 
product to the list.  (PA 02-1, § 
121, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002)  Another 
new law, however, makes that 
particular provision void if a 
court of competent jurisdiction, 
in a final decision, decides that 
the federal Secretary of Health 
and Human Services does not 
have authority to allow such 
rebates.  But it specifies that the 
inability to use these 
supplemental rebates does not 
impair the committee’s ability to 
maintain a preferred drug list.  
(PA 02-7, §52, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage)  

Voluntary Mail Order 
Option.  The DSS commissioner 
can establish a voluntary mail 
order option for maintenance 
prescription drugs covered under 
DSS drug assistance programs.  
Maintenance drugs are those 
that the patient must take for 
long periods of time.  (PA 02-1, § 
120, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002) 

Pharmaceutical Purchasing 
Initiative. The legislature gave 
the DSS commissioner authority 
to implement a “pharmaceutical 
purchasing initiative” by 
contracting with an established 
entity for the lowest pricing 
available for these assistance 
programs.  Any entity with which 
the commissioner contracts must 
have an established 
pharmaceutical network and 
demonstrate its ability to process 
the anticipated prescription 
volume.  (PA 02-1, § 123, May 9 
Special Session, effective July 1, 
2002)  DSS must report annually 
on the initiative’s status to the 
legislature’s Appropriations 
Committee. (PA 02-7 § 56, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 

Pharmacies’ Dispensing 
Fees.  The DSS commissioner 
must reduce the dispensing fee 
paid to pharmacies from $4.10 to 
$3.85 per prescription, starting 
September 1, 2002. (PA 02-1,  § 
122, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002) 

Pharmacies will also no longer 
receive an additional fee of 50 
cents from DSS for substituting a 
generic product for a brand name 
drug prescribed under the 
Medicaid program (known as the 
generic incentive dispensing fee). 
(PA 02-7, §§ 50 and 88, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
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Generic Drug 

Reimbursement Ceilings.  A 
new law allows the DSS 
commissioner to set payment 
ceilings known as “maximum 
allowable costs” (MAC) for generic 
prescription drug reimbursement 
to pharmacies.  It allows the 
commissioner to base the MAC 
on actual acquisition costs, but 
does not limit her to this method.  
(PA 02-1, § 118, May 9 Special 
Session, effective July 1, 2002)  
Another new law requires DSS to 
(1) implement and maintain a 
procedure to review and update 
the MAC list at least annually 
and (2) annually report its 
activities under this provision to 
the legislature’s  
Appropriations Committee. (PA 
02-7, § 53, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 
 
Prescription Error Reporting 
 

Pharmacies have to establish 
quality assurance programs to 
detect and prevent prescription 
errors.  A “prescription error” is 
an act or omission of clinical 
significance related to drug 
dispensing that results or may 
reasonably be expected to result 
in a patient’s injury or death. 
Each pharmacy must (1) post 
signs and include notices on 
receipts or in packaging 
informing consumers how to 
report errors and (2) keep records 
about prescription errors. (PA 02-
48) 
 

ASSISTED LIVING PILOTS 
 
Under a new law, some 

seniors living in private assisted 
living facilities who are in danger 
of running out of money may not 
have to move to a nursing home. 
The legislature authorized DSS, 
on or after January 1, 2003 and 
within available appropriations, 
to start two new pilot programs: 
a Medicaid waiver pilot for up to 
50 people and a purely state-
funded pilot for another 25 
people.  The pilots will pay for 
assisted living services for these 
seniors if their assets and income 
otherwise qualify them for the 
Connecticut Home Care Program 
for Elders (CHCPE) (which also 
consists of a Medicaid waiver 
portion and a state-funded 
portion for people with somewhat 
higher assets).  DSS will use 
Medicaid asset transfer rules in 
determining eligibility for both 
pilots. 

Applicants for either pilot 
must reside in a managed 
residential community (MRC) 
where the assisted living services 
are provided by a licensed 
assisted living services agency.  
They must also be ineligible to 
receive these services under any 
other assisted living services pilot 
program established by the 
General Assembly. (PA 02-7, §§ 
27-28, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 
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LONG-TERM CARE PLANNING 

 
Long-Term Care Advisory 
Council 
 

A new law requires the Long-
Term Care Advisory Council 
(LTCAC) to seek 
recommendations from people 
with disabilities or people 
receiving long-term care services 
who reflect the state’s 
socioeconomic diversity. 

It adds eight new members to 
the 19-member LTCAC.  They are 
(1) a personal care attendant 
appointed by the House speaker; 
(2) the president of the Family 
Support Council or his designee; 
(3) someone who, in a home 
setting, cares for a person with a 
disability, appointed by the 
Senate president pro tempore; (4) 
three people with disabilities, one 
each appointed by the House and 
Senate majority leaders and the 
House minority leader; (5) a 
legislator who is a member of the 
Long-Term Care Planning 
Committee; and (6) a nonunion 
home health aide appointed by 
the Senate minority leader.   

The LTCAC, composed of long-
term care providers and 
consumer advocates, advises the 
interagency Long-Term Care 
(LTC) Planning Committee, which 
is composed of representatives 
from executive agencies and 
legislators.  The LTC Planning 
Committee’s charge is to 
exchange information on long-
term care issues, coordinate 
long-term care policy 

development, establish a 
statewide long-term care plan for 
the elderly and others in need of 
long-term care, revise it every 
three years, and study related 
issues. (PA 02-100, effective 
October 1, 2002) 
 
Long-Term Care Website 

 
The Office of Policy and 

Management (OPM), within 
existing budgetary resources, 
must develop a single, consumer-
oriented Internet website that 
provides comprehensive 
information on long-term care 
options in Connecticut.  The 
website must include direct links 
and referral information on long-
term care resources, including 
private and nonprofit 
organizations offering advice, 
counseling, and legal services.  
OPM must consult with the 
Select Committee on Aging, the 
Commission on Aging, and the 
Long-Term Care Advisory Council 
when developing the site.  (PA 02-
7, § 51, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Comprehensive Needs 
Assessment  
 
OPM must conduct a 
comprehensive needs assessment 
of the unmet long-term care 
needs in the state and project 
future demand for such services. 
The assessment must include a 
review of DMR’s waiting list. (SA 
02-7, effective July 1, 2002) 
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OTHER MEDICAID ISSUES 

 
Optional Services  
 

A new law requires DSS to 
amend the Medicaid state plan in 
order to implement the Medicaid 
optional services provisions in PA 
02-1, May 9 Special Session. It 
specifies that the state plan 
amendment will supersede any 
existing regulations concerning 
these services.  With this change, 
Medicaid could potentially no 
longer pay for the services of 
naturopaths, chiropractors, 
psychologists, physical 
therapists, occupational 
therapists, speech therapists, 
and podiatrists.  How this 
provision will finally be 
implemented is not entirely clear.  
DSS is currently analyzing the 
situation and we are awaiting 
clarification from them.  (PA 02-7, 
§ 104, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 
 
Nonemergency Medical 
Transportation 
 

A new law allows DSS, by 
June 30, 2003, in consultation 
with OPM, to submit an 
amendment to the Medicaid state 
plan or implement changes 
needed to reduce Medicaid 
nonemergency medical 
transportation expenditures.  But 
it prohibits eliminating any 
“category of eligible need” (e.g., 
livery, wheelchair vans, 
ambulances) other than 
reimbursement for personal 

vehicle use. 
It also allows a competitively 

bid contract for nonemergency 
medical transportation that the 
state enters into to include 
services provided by another 
state agency and to supersede 
any conflicting state regulations 
that affect medical 
transportation. 

Finally, DSS will be the sole 
state agency that sets both 
emergency and nonemergency 
medical transportation fees or fee 
schedules for any transportation 
services the department 
reimburses under Medicaid, 
SAGA, and other medical 
assistance programs it runs. (PA 
02-7, § 60-61, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 
 
Physician Reimbursement for 
Medicare-Medicaid Dually 
Eligible Patients 

 
Starting April 1, 2003 and 

within available Medicaid 
appropriations, DSS must grant 
a rate increase to physicians 
providing services to clients who 
are eligible for both Medicare and 
Medicaid (“dually-eligible” 
clients). (PA 02-7, § 54, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Payment for Used Durable 
Medicaid Equipment 
 

A new law allows the DSS 
commissioner to pay for used, 
durable medical equipment 
supplied by a vendor or supplier 
enrolled as a medical equipment, 
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devices, and supplies provider 
under the Medicaid program.  It 
eliminates the requirement under 
prior law (PA 01-2, June Special 
Session) for the commissioner to 
seek a federal waiver for the 
purpose.  The covered equipment 
includes items such as 
wheelchairs, hospital beds, 
walkers, crutches, or canes. (PA 
02-7, § 48, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage) 

 
Home Health Service Claims - 
Dually Eligible 
 

A new law sets special 
requirements for paying claims 
during a federal demonstration 
project to improve the efficiency 
of the payment process for home 
health services provided to 
Medicare-Medicaid dually eligible 
clients (Medicaid is always the 
payer of last resort).  It allows 
DSS to (1) impose a sanction of 
up to $50,000 on a home health 
provider for each failure to 
appropriately file Medicare claims 
or medical records under the 
project and (2) recoup the 
sanction amount from ongoing 
Medicaid payments to the 
provider.  During the project, no 
eligible recipient can be held 
liable for reimbursement to the 
state for the cost of these 
Medicare services paid for by 
Medicaid. 

It also allows DSS, under an 
agreement with the federal 
Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, to waive 
liability for reimbursement for 
otherwise liable people (i.e., 

people for whom Medicaid paid 
when Medicare should have) who 
received the services between 
October 1,1997 and September 
30, 2000.  (PA 02-7, § 98, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
 
STATE AND TOWN MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE 
 

A new law eliminates coverage 
for eye care, optical hardware, 
optometry care, podiatry, 
chiropractic, naturopathy, and 
home health care under SAGA 
and town GA.  It also permits 
DSS to contract with a 
consortium of federally qualified 
community health centers 
(FQHC) to provide medical 
assistance to these recipients.  
(PA 02-7, §§ 19, 20 & 62, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
 
IMMIGRANTS 
 

A new law delays, from June 
30, 2002 to June 30, 2003, the 
cutoff date for legal immigrants 
who are barred from federal 
programs to apply for state-
funded programs.  These 
programs include the 
Connecticut Home Care Program 
for Elders (CHCPE), food stamps, 
cash assistance under 
Temporary Family Assistance 
(TFA) and SAGA, state-funded 
medical assistance equivalent to 
Medicaid, SAGA medical aid, and 
HUSKY B. (PA 02-7, §§ 22 – 25, 
May 9 Special Session, effective 
upon passage) 
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STATE SUPPLEMENT  
 

A new law increases the 
personal needs allowance for the 
State Supplement Program by 
one-half the percentage increase 
in the January 2003 annual 
cost-of-living increase, if any, in 
the federal Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI) program. 
(PA 02-7, § 55, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage)   
The budget appropriates $1 
million for this purpose. 

 
NURSING HOMES 
 
Designees and Nursing Home 
Patients’ Bill Of Rights 
 

A new law requires people to 
honor documents executed by 
one adult designating another 
adult to make certain decisions 
on the maker’s behalf in nursing 
homes, residential care homes, 
chronic disease hospitals, 
psychiatric hospitals, other 
health care settings, and certain 
other situations.   

The act includes these 
designees in certain portions of 
the nursing home patients’ bill of 
rights and authorizes them to (1) 
receive between 30 and 60 days 
advance notice of involuntary, 
non-emergency room transfers, 
including moving Medicaid 
patients from private to non-
private rooms; (2) be included in 
the pre-transfer consultative 
process (the law requires notice 
to, and consultation with, certain 
relatives, conservators and 

guardians, or other 
representatives); (3) visit them in 
private (prior law applied to 
spouses only); and (4) meet with 
other patients’ families at the 
facility (prior law was limited to 
family members). See below for a 
discussion of the act’s other 
provisions affecting seniors.  (PA 
02-105) 
  
Flu and Pneumonia 
Vaccinations 
 

The public health 
commissioner has to adopt 
regulations to prevent influenza 
and pneumococcal disease in 
nursing homes.  The regulations 
must assure that each nursing 
home patient is immunized 
annually against influenza, and 
against pneumonia according to 
recommendations of the National 
Advisory Committee on 
Immunization.  The regulations 
must also provide appropriate 
exemptions for patients (1) for 
whom immunization is medically 
contraindicated or (2) who object 
on religious grounds.  (PA 02-10) 

 
Rate Increase Delay 

 
The legislature delayed by six 

months the statutorily scheduled 
2% Medicaid nursing home rate 
increase from July 1, 2002 to 
January 1, 2003.  But any 
facility whose rate would have 
dropped on July 1, 2002 due to 
an interim rate status or 
agreement with DSS will be paid 
the lower rate, which will then be 
increased by 2% on January 1, 
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2003.  (PA 02-7, § 17, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage)  
 
Nursing Home Staffing 
Funding 

 
Originally, $7 million was 

allocated in FY 03 to enhance 
staffing.  Only $2 million was 
finally approved in the budget 
bill.  (PA 02-1, § 17, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Medicare Distinct Part 
Certification 

 
New legislation requires all 

nursing homes (except those 
solely for AIDS patients), chronic 
disease hospitals associated with 
nursing homes, and rest homes 
with nursing supervision that 
participate in Medicaid to 
participate equally in Medicare.  
It does this by eliminating their 
ability to ask the DSS 
commissioner to have a smaller 
number of beds certified for 
Medicare under certain 
conditions.  (PA 02-7, § 46, May 9 
Special Session, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Drug Return Program 
Penalties 

 
Nursing homes must already 

return certain unused 
prescriptions (individually 
packaged unit dose medications 
for about 50 of the most 
commonly used drugs) for their 
Medicaid residents to the 

pharmacies that dispense them. 
The pharmacies may return the 
drugs to stock (in new packages) 
and re-sell them before they 
expire.  This act subjects 
facilities to a $30,000 fine for 
each incident of noncompliance. 
It allows DSS to offset a facility’s 
Medicaid reimbursement to 
collect the penalty.  (PA 02-1,  § 
119, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002) 
 
Nursing Home Closure Notice 
and Public Hearing  
 

A new law requires any 
nursing home, intermediate care 
facility for the mentally retarded, 
rest home, or residential care 
home submitting any kind of 
letter of intent or certificate of 
need (CON) application to DSS to 
simultaneously notify the Office 
of the Long-Term Care 
Ombudsman. 

The act requires facilities 
submitting a letter of intent to 
terminate a service or decrease 
their bed capacity substantially 
(e. g., close a facility) to also (1) 
concurrently notify in writing all 
residents, guardians or 
conservators, legally liable 
relatives, or other responsible 
parties, if known, and (2) post a 
notice in a conspicuous location 
at the facility.  The act specifies 
the notice’s contents. 

The act permits DSS to hold a 
public hearing on such 
applications, as well as those 
involving capital expenditures. 
Under prior law, hearings for 
capital expenditures were 
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mandatory, with a waiver allowed 
in emergencies. There was no 
hearing option for the other type 
of CON. The act allows a 
simultaneous hearing on more 
than one application if they are 
similar. 

Under existing law, a facility 
must file a CON application with 
DSS, beginning with a letter of 
intent (a notice of its intention to 
apply for a CON), whenever it (1) 
transfers ownership or control 
prior to licensure, (2) adds a new 
function or service or expands an 
existing one, (3) ends a service or 
substantially reduces its total 
bed capacity, or (4) proposes 
certain capital expenditures.  If 
DSS approves the application, 
the CON is granted.  (PA 02-135) 
 
Exception to Nursing Home 
Moratorium 
 

Under a new law, DSS can 
approve one CON request for up 
to 20 beds to provide lifetime 
nursing home services from a 
licensed nursing home that does 
not participate Medicaid or 
Medicare.  The home must (1) 
admit residents without regard to 
income or assets and (2) show 
that it is financially able to 
provide such care without 
Medicaid participation.  
Currently, there is a moratorium 
on new nursing home beds until 
2007, with certain exceptions.  
(PA 02-135) 

TAXES 
 
Gift Tax Phase-Out Delay 

 
The legislature delayed a 

scheduled phase-out of the tax 
on gifts of $1 million or less. The 
tax on gifts of $25,000 or less 
was already eliminated as of 
January 1, 2001.  The new law 
freezes the gift tax at 2001 rates 
for the 2002 and 2003 calendar 
years and delays each 
subsequent scheduled reduction 
by two years, postponing the end 
of the phase-out from 2006 to 
2008. (PA 02-1, May 9 Special 
Session, effective upon passage 
and applicable to income years 
starting on or after January 1, 
2002) 
 
FOOD STAMP PROGRAM 
CHANGE 
 

Food stamp recipients can 
keep a car valued up to $9,500.  
The prior limit was $4,650. (PA 
02-37, effective July 1, 2002) 
 
ANTHEM DEMUTUALIZATION 
PAYMENTS 
 

Recent one-time cash 
payments and the value of stock 
distributed to individuals in 
connection with Anthem, Inc.’s 
conversion to a stockholder-
owned company will not count as 
income in determining eligibility 
for the following programs: 
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1. ConnPACE, 
2. state-reimbursed 

additional property tax 
exemption for veterans, 

3. elderly property tax freeze, 
4. rental rebates for elderly 

and totally disabled people, 
5. property tax credits for 

elderly and totally disabled 
homeowners (circuit 
breaker), 

6. local-option additional 
property tax exemptions for 
veterans and totally 
disabled and blind people, 
and 

7. local-option property tax 
relief for elderly and 
disabled people. 

 
For stock distributions to be 

excluded, the recipient must sell 
these in the tax year in which 
they are distributed or the two 
following tax years. The exclusion 
is limited to the stock’s value on 
the distribution date and does 
not cover any gains accrued 
between the distribution date 
and the sale date.  (SA 02-1, 
effective upon passage and 
applicable to property tax 
assessment years starting on or 
after October 1, 2001 and taxable 
years for individuals starting on 
or after January 1, 2001.) 

 
INSURANCE 
 
Designation of Third Party to 
Receive Certain Cancellation 
Notices 

 
A new law requires 

automobile and homeowner 
insurers to include a 
conspicuous statement with each 
policy informing policyholders 
age 55 and older that they may 
designate a third party to receive 
cancellation or nonrenewal 
notices. The statement must 
include a designation form and 
an address to which to mail the 
completed form.  The designation 
form must include a written 
acceptance by the designee. 
Policyholders and third-party 
designees may each end the 
designation by sending the 
insurer and the other party 
written notice.  The insurer may 
require these termination notices 
to be sent by certified mail, 
return receipt requested.  

The act requires the insurers 
to use the same method to 
provide a copy of the notice to 
any third-party designee as they 
do for sending cancellation or 
nonrenewal notices to the 
policyholder. (PA 02-60)  

 
MOTOR VEHICLE TRANSFER 
UPON DEATH OPTION   

 
A new law allows a natural 

person who is the sole owner of a 
motor vehicle to designate on the 
registration certificate a 
beneficiary to assume ownership 
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of the vehicle on his death. (PA 
02-105, effective January 1, 
2003) 
 
DESIGNEES FOR HEALTH 
CARE AND OTHER DECISION-
MAKING 

 
A new law requires people to 

honor documents executed by 
one adult designating another 
adult to make certain decisions 
on the maker’s behalf and giving 
the designee limited rights or 
responsibilities. The act applies 
to documents used in: 

 
1. psychiatric hospitals, when 

informed consent for 
medical treatment is 
required from someone 
other than the patient;  

2. nursing homes, residential 
care homes, chronic 
disease hospitals, and rest 
homes with nursing 
supervision, when private 
visitation and room 
transfer decisions are 
made;  

3. health care settings, when 
medical personnel (a) need 
information about a 
patient’s wishes from 
people other than the 
patient or (b) plan to 
withdraw life support;  

4. the workplace, when an 
employee receives an 
emergency phone call; and 

5. court and administrative 
proceedings involving 
crime victims.  

 

The act includes these 
designees in certain portions of 
the nursing home patients’ bill of 
rights.  It authorizes them to 
receive certain room transfer 
notices and be consulted in the 
transfer process, visit privately 
with the patient, and meet with 
other patients' families at the 
facility. (PA 02-105)  
 
Life Support and Anatomical 
Gift Decisions 

 
By law, a physician treating 

an incapacitated person in a 
terminal or permanently 
unconscious condition must 
consider the patient's wishes 
concerning the withholding or 
withdrawal of life support. When 
the doctor does not have a 
patient’s living will in his 
possession, he must determine 
those wishes by asking the 
patient’s health care agent, next 
of kin, legal guardian or 
conservator, or anyone else he 
knows has talked with the 
patient about his wishes, where 
this is possible. He must also 
make reasonable efforts to give 
advance notice to a person's 
health care agent, legal guardian, 
or conservator before 
withdrawing life support. 

The act adds a patient’s 
designee to the list of people the 
doctor must consult about a 
patient's wishes and notify before 
removing life support. It also 
requires health care providers to 
include in a patient’s medical 
record reported communications 
the patient made to his designee, 
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in addition to the people listed 
above, about any aspect of his 
health care preferences, 
including the withholding or 
withdrawal of life support. 

A deceased person's designee 
will have priority in anatomical 
gift decisions over his guardian, 
health care agent, conservator, 
and all family members except 
the surviving spouse. As under 
existing law, no one can override 
the deceased’s earlier unrevoked 
decision not to make the gift. (PA 
02-105)  
 
MISCELLANEOUS 
 
Segways  

 
A new law allows certain 

people with disabilities to use an 
“electric personal assistive 
mobility device” (a Segway) on 
sidewalks and to cross certain 
highways without an operator’s 
license or a vehicle registration. A 
Segway is a self-balancing device 
for transporting one person that 
has an electric propulsion system 
and two nontandem wheels, can 
go at speeds up to 15 miles per 
hour, and is unsuitable for 
public highways.  This act 
applies only to people sixteen or 
older who have disabilities that 
limit or impair their ability to 
walk, and who have been issued 
a handicapped parking placard 
by the motor vehicle 
commissioner.  (PA 02-7, §§ 73 
and 74, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 

 

Exclusions From Bank Account 
Executions  

 
By law, a creditor may obtain 

a court-ordered judgment against 
someone who owes him money 
(the debtor). The creditor can 
serve this order on any bank 
where the debtor has an account, 
but cannot seize certain types of 
exempt funds.  This act 
increases, from $800 to $1,000, 
the amount the bank must leave 
in the account if the debtor 
recently received “readily 
identifiable” exempt federal 
veterans’ or Social Security 
benefits by direct deposit. (PA 02-
93, effective January 1, 2003)  

 
Hospice Extension 

 
New legislation extends until 

October 1, 2006 a pilot program 
that allows hospices to establish 
residences for offering home care 
and related services to terminally 
ill people.  Authority to operate 
the pilot lapsed in 2001.  (PA 02-
7, § 96, May 9 Special Session, 
effective upon passage) 

 
Health Care Quality Program 

 
A new law requires DPH to 

establish a quality of care 
program for health care facilities 
that includes a health care 
quality performance 
measurement and reporting 
system.  The program will 
initially apply to hospitals and, in 
later years, to other health care 
facilities.  DPH must produce a 
report comparing hospitals based 
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on quality performance 
measures. Beginning June 30, 
2003, all hospitals must 
implement performance 
improvement plans and submit 
them annually to DPH. 

The act also requires hospitals 
and outpatient surgical facilities 
to report adverse events to DPH.  
An “adverse event” is an injury 
caused by or associated with 
medical management and results 
in death or measurable disability. 
(PA 02-125, October 1, 2002, 
except July 1, 2002 for the 
adverse event reports)  
 
Hospital Patient Rights 
Pamphlet 

 
DPH must study the need for a 
pamphlet outlining hospital 
patients’ rights under federal or 
state law or regulations and 
report on the study to the Public 
Health Committee by January 1, 
2003.  SA 02-11, effective upon 
passage) 
 
Elderly Express and Geriatric 
Assessment 
 

New appropriations in the 
budget for seniors include 
$80,000 for Elderly Express in 
New Haven and Eastern Region 
(a community dial-a-ride service 
that takes seniors to medical 
appointments) and $30,000 for 
geriatric assessment in Norwich. 
(PA 02-1, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002)  
 

OTHER BUDGET CHANGES 
AFFECTING SENIOR 
PROGRAMS 

 
There were also some 

generalized cuts across many 
accounts, some of which may 
affect the elderly.  The impact will 
not be fully known until DSS 
decides exactly how to implement 
them.  The legislature further 
gave the governor authority to 
make certain additional cuts in 
the budget, if needed. (PA 02-1,  § 
52, May 9 Special Session, 
effective July 1, 2002)  
 
HN:ts 
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