Representative Arthur J. O'Neill, Chairman
William R. Breetz
Representative Robert Farr
Jon P. Fitzgerald
Robert W. Grant
Representative Michael P. Lawlor
Michael W. Lyons
Mary Anne O'Neill
Joel I. Rudikoff
Edmund F. Schmidt
Joseph J. Selinger, Jr.
Judge Elliot N. Solomon
Professor Colin C. Tait
Professor Terry J. Tondro
I. Milton Widem
Senator Donald E. Williams, Jr.

Seal-blue4.jpg (4041 bytes)

David D. Biklen
Executive Director

David L. Hemond
Chief Attorney

Jo A. Roberts
Senior Attorney

Connecticut Law Revision Commission
State Capitol
Room 509A
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-1591
(860) 240-0220
FAX (860) 240-0322


Minutes of Meeting

October 6, 1999

A regular meeting of the Connecticut Law Revision Commission Electronic Communications Drafting Committee was held in Room 509A of the State Capitol Building in Hartford on Wednesday, October 6, 1999 at 9:30 a.m. Members present were: Senator Thomas A. Bozek; Anthony J. Dennis; Wanda Dupuy; Marc Edrich; Representative Robert Farr; Rich Green; Massimo E. Iori; Representative Alex Knopp; John E. Kreitler; Houston Putnam Lowry; John Mengacci; Robert A. Mitchell; Representative Arthur J. O’Neill; Jo A. Roberts; Jackie Perrie Scheib; Douglas K. Simpson; and Ernie Wright. Also present were David Biklen and LaGanza.

Ms Roberts opened the meeting and welcomed the members.

The members introduced themselves.

The members discussed whether the Electronic Transactions Act drafted by the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws is an appropriate model to use in drafting legislation for Connecticut.

Some members were concerned that any legislation for Connecticut be consistent with the United Nations Committee on International Trade Law's Model Law on Electronic Commerce.

Patricia Fry, Chair of the UETA drafting committee, joined the meeting by speaker phone and answered questions from the members about the act.

The members voted to use the UETA as a model for drafting legislation for Connecticut.

The next committee meeting will be on Tuesday, November 9, 1999 at 10:30 a.m. Ms Roberts will distribute copies of the commentary to the UETA, which is expected to be available within two weeks, to the committee prior to the next meeting.

The members recommended that the following be invited to send representatives to the committee: The Connecticut Business and Industry Association, The Connecticut Bankers Association and the Judicial Department.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned. The next meeting of the Electronic Communications Committee will be held on Tuesday, November 9, 1999 at 10:30 a.m. in Room 509A of the State Capitol Building in Hartford.

Respectfully submitted,


Jo A. Roberts