Substitute for Raised S.B. No. 278
Session Year 2022


To (1) define "subscriber" and "video streaming", (2) require the Public Utilities Regulatory Authority to establish a fee paid by subscribers of video streaming, Internet access and cable television, and (3) limit the applicable fee to one household per purchased service.

Introduced by:
Energy and Technology Committee

 New today  2-4 days old  5 days & older

Co-sponsors for Amendment LCO:

Bill History

 Date Action Taken
 5/31/2022Signed by the Governor
 5/26/2022Transmitted by Secretary of the State to Governor
 5/26/2022Transmitted to the Secretary of State
 5/19/2022(LCO)Special Act 22-23
 5/4/2022In Concurrence
 5/4/2022House Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/4/2022House Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/4/2022House Calendar Number 562
 5/4/2022Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, House
 5/4/2022Transmitted Pursuant To Joint Rule 17
 5/4/2022On Consent Calendar
 5/4/2022Senate Passed as Amended by Senate Amendment Schedule A
 5/4/2022Senate Adopted Senate Amendment Schedule A 6388
 4/6/2022(LCO)File Number 352
 4/6/2022Senate Calendar Number 250
 4/6/2022Favorable Report, Tabled for the Calendar, Senate
 4/6/2022(LCO)Reported Out of Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/31/2022(LCO)Referred to Office of Legislative Research and Office of Fiscal Analysis 04/05/22 5:00 PM
 3/23/2022(LCO)Filed with Legislative Commissioners' Office
 3/22/2022(ET)Joint Favorable
 3/4/2022Public Hearing 03/08
 3/3/2022Referred to Joint Committee on Energy and Technology

Co-sponsors of SB-278

Rep. Michael A. Winkler, 56th Dist.
Rep. Maria P. Horn, 64th Dist.
Rep. Peter A. Tercyak, 26th Dist.
Rep. Gary A. Turco, 27th Dist.
Rep. Jaime S. Foster, 57th Dist.
Rep. Robin E. Comey, 102nd Dist.
Rep. John K. Hampton, 16th Dist.
Rep. Edwin Vargas, 6th Dist.
Sen. Derek Slap, 5th Dist.
Sen. Marilyn V. Moore, 22nd Dist.
Rep. Ben McGorty, 122nd Dist.
Sen. Dennis A. Bradley, 23rd Dist.
Rep. Eleni Kavros DeGraw, 17th Dist.
Sen. Gary A. Winfield, 10th Dist.
Sen. Heather S. Somers, 18th Dist.
Rep. John "Jack" F. Hennessy, 127th Dist.
Rep. Christine Goupil, 35th Dist.
Rep. Jane M. Garibay, 60th Dist.
Rep. David Michel, 146th Dist.
Rep. Dorinda Borer, 115th Dist.
Rep. Tammy R. Exum, 19th Dist.
Rep. Susan M. Johnson, 49th Dist.
Rep. Mike Demicco, 21st Dist.
Rep. Frank Smith, 118th Dist.
Sen. Rick Lopes, 6th Dist.
Rep. Anthony L. Nolan, 39th Dist.
Rep. Christine Conley, 40th Dist.
Rep. Bobby G. Gibson, 15th Dist.
Rep. Kathy Kennedy, 119th Dist.
Rep. Mary M. Mushinsky, 85th Dist.
Rep. Joe de la Cruz, 41st Dist.
Sen. Kevin D. Witkos, 8th Dist.
Rep. Hilda E. Santiago, 84th Dist.
Rep. Holly H. Cheeseman, 37th Dist.

NOTE: Please direct all inquiries regarding the status of bills to the Office of the House Clerk and/or Senate Clerks' Office.