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Issue  

Briefly explain the state and municipal taxes on recreational cannabis. This report has been 

updated by OLR Report 2022-R-0107. 

 

Summary 

Under Connecticut’s new recreational cannabis law (PA 21-1, June Special Session, §§ 125-129), 

sales of recreational cannabis are generally subject to three taxes: a state cannabis tax based on 

the product’s type and total THC reflected on its label, a 3% municipal cannabis tax, and 6.35% 

state sales and use tax. Cannabis for palliative (i.e., medical) use is exempt from all three of these 

taxes.  

 

The taxes apply at the retail level to sales by cannabis retailers, hybrid retailers, and micro-

cultivators. Revenue from the state cannabis tax is directed to the General Fund, a new General 

Fund account (the Cannabis Regulatory and Investment Account), and two new appropriated funds 

(the Social Equity and Innovation Fund and Prevention and Recovery Services Fund), according to a 

specified schedule. Revenue from the municipal cannabis tax becomes a part of the municipality’s 

general revenue and must be used for designated purposes, including streetscape improvements 

and neighborhood developments, education or youth employment or training programs, and 

services for formally incarcerated individuals. 

 

This report provides a brief overview of the new law’s tax provisions. A full summary of these 

provisions is available on the Connecticut General Assembly’s website.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2022/rpt/pdf/2022-R-0107.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2021/SUM/PDF/2021SUM00001-R03SB-01201-SUM.PDF


2021-R-0165 November 5, 2021 Page 2 of 4 
 

State Cannabis Tax 

What is the Tax Rate and Base? 

Connecticut imposes a state tax on retail sales of cannabis, 

cannabis plant material, and cannabis edible products by a 

cannabis retailer, hybrid retailer, or micro-cultivator, with 

certain exceptions. The tax rate is based on the product’s 

type and total THC reflected on its label.  

 

Specifically, the tax rate is: 

• 0.625 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis 

plant material;  

• 2.75 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis 

edible products; and 

• 0.9 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis, 

other than cannabis plant material or cannabis edible 

products. 

 

The tax does not apply to (1) sales of cannabis for palliative 

use; (2) sales of cannabis by a delivery service to a 

consumer; or (3) transfers of cannabis by specified entities to 

a transporter for transport to other entities (e.g., transfers by 

cultivators to transporters for transport to product 

manufacturers or packagers). 

 

Does State Sales Tax Apply? 

Yes. The state’s 6.35% sales and use tax also applies to retail sales of cannabis, cannabis plant 

material, and cannabis edible products. The law specifically prohibits any exemptions under the 

state’s sales and use tax law from applying to cannabis sales, other than exemptions for (1) sales 

of cannabis for palliative use (which is considered a tax-exempt nonprescription drug) and (2) 

transfers of cannabis to a transporter. It also prohibits anyone from purchasing cannabis on a 

resale basis. (By law, sales for resale are generally exempt from state sales and use tax.) 

 

Under the law, any products containing cannabis or cannabinoids (manufactured or synthetic) are 

excluded from the nonprescription drug or medicine exemption and thus subject to sales and use 

tax.  

 

Definitions 

“Cannabis” generally means all parts 

of a plant or species of the genus 

cannabis, whether growing or not. It 

includes its seeds and resin; its 

compounds, manufactures, salts, 

derivatives, mixtures, and 

preparations; CBD (cannabidiol) and 

similar compounds unless derived 

from hemp; any product made from 

hemp with more than 0.3% total THC 

concentration; manufactured 

cannabinoids; and certain synthetic 

cannabinoids.  

“Cannabis plant material” means the 

cannabis flower, trim, and all parts of 

the cannabis plant or species, 

excluding hemp and a growing 

cannabis plant and its seeds. 

“Cannabis edible products” are those 

containing cannabis or cannabis 

concentrate, combined with other 

ingredients, that are intended to be 

ingested. 
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How is the Tax Administered? 

Retailers and micro-cultivators must collect the tax from consumers at the time of sale (except for 

the exempt sales described above). They must (1) file returns with the Department of Revenue 

Services (DRS) each month in which they may legally sell cannabis in the state and (2) remit the tax 

due with the return. Late tax payments are subject to a penalty of 25% of the amount due and 

unpaid or $250, whichever is greater, plus interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month from the 

due date to the payment date. 

 

Where does the Tax Revenue Go? 

Revenue from the state cannabis tax is directed to the General Fund, a new General Fund account, 

and two new appropriated funds, according to a schedule specified in the recreational cannabis 

law. Table 1 provides the revenue distribution schedule and briefly describes the purposes for 

which the new account and funds must be used. 

 

Table 1: State Retail Cannabis Tax Revenue Distribution 

Funds and Accounts FY 22 FY 23 

FYs 

24-

26 

FYs 

27-

28 

FYs 

29+ 

Cannabis Regulatory and Investment Account: to pay costs state 

agencies incur in implementing the state’s recreational cannabis 

law 

100% - - - - 

General Fund - 100% 15% 10% - 

Social Equity and Innovation Fund: to fund appropriations for (1) 

access to business capital, (2) technical assistance for business 

start-ups and operations, (3) workforce education, and (4) 

community investments 

- - 60% 65% 75% 

Prevention and Recovery Services Fund: to fund appropriations 

for substance abuse prevention, treatment, and recovery 

services and substance abuse data collection and analysis. 

- - 25% 25% 25% 
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Municipal Cannabis Tax 

What is the Tax Rate and Base? 

Connecticut imposes a 3% municipal sales tax on the gross receipts from the sale of cannabis by a 

cannabis retailer, hybrid retailer, or micro-cultivator that must be administered in accordance with 

the state sales and use tax law. The municipal sales tax is in addition to the state cannabis tax 

described above and 6.35% state sales tax on such products. As with the state cannabis tax, the 

following are exempt from the municipality tax: (1) cannabis for palliative use, (2) sales of cannabis 

by a delivery service to a consumer, and (3) the transfer of cannabis to a transporter. 

 

How is the Tax Administered? 

Retailers and micro-cultivators must collect the tax from consumers at the time of sale and hold it 

in trust until remitted to the municipality. The law establishes a process by which the retailers and 

micro-cultivators report their sales to DRS, which in turn notifies municipalities of the tax amount 

due from each retailer and micro-cultivator. Municipalities then invoice each applicable retailer and 

micro-cultivator, which must remit their tax payments to each respective municipality. Late tax 

payments are subject to a penalty of 25% of the amount due and unpaid or $250, whichever is 

greater, plus interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month from the due date to the payment 

date. 

 

Where does the Tax Revenue Go? 

The tax amounts remitted by retailers and micro-cultivators become a part of the municipality’s 

general revenue and must be used for any of the following purposes: 

1. streetscape improvements and other neighborhood developments in communities where 

cannabis retailers, hybrid retailers, or micro-cultivators are located; 

2. education programs or youth employment and training programs in the municipality; 

3. services for individuals living in the municipality who were released from DOC custody, 

probation, or parole;  

4. mental health or addiction services;  

5. youth service bureaus and municipal juvenile review boards; and 

6. community civic engagement efforts. 
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