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Issue  

Provide the penalties for passing a school bus in all 50 states. This report updates OLR Report 

2016-R-0032.  

 

Summary 

Every state has a “stop-arm law” that (1) prohibits drivers from passing a school bus that is stopped 

to load or unload students with its red lights flashing and stop-arm extended and (2) imposes 

penalties on violators. Connecticut imposes a fine of $450 for a first violation of its stop-arm law 

and a fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 30 days in jail, or both for subsequent violations. (For a more 

detailed summary of Connecticut’s law, see OLR Report 2019-R-0199.) Penalties in other states 

vary greatly. All states impose a fine for each offense, but fines range from $30, the minimum fine 

in Wisconsin, to up to $10,000, the maximum fine in Indiana. Several states permit a license 

suspension or prison sentence for first violations and most permit them for subsequent violations, 

but the suspension or sentence length varies.   

 

Additionally, administrative penalties, often in the form of points, may be assessed against the 

licenses of those who violate the law. The National Association of State Directors of Pupil 

Transportation Services administered a 2013-2014 survey of stop-arm laws, which indicates the 

number of points states assess for illegally passing a school bus. The survey found that (1) at least 

seven states assess five or more points, (2) at least four states assess four points, and (3) at least 

nine states assess three or fewer points (see page 8 of the report).  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/rpt/pdf/2016-R-0032.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2019/rpt/pdf/2019-R-0199.pdf
http://www.nasdpts.org/StopArm/documents/StateStopArmLawSurvey_NASDPTS2014.pdf
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Finally, many states, including Connecticut, have laws allowing the use of video monitoring systems 

installed on the outside of a school bus to capture images of vehicles illegally passing. For more 

information on these systems, see OLR Report 2018-R-0289. 

 

State Penalties 

Penalties for illegally passing a school bus vary greatly among states. For a first conviction, 10 

states permit a fine of up to $1,000 or more, 16 states permit a prison sentence, and 10 states 

permit a license suspension for up to 30 days or more. See Tables 1, 2, and 3 for the specific 

states permitting each penalty, listed in descending order by length or maximum amount of the 

penalty. Table 4 provides more detailed information on state stop-arm law fines and other penalties 

(i.e., prison terms, license suspensions, and community service). 

 

The state penalties included in this report are not inclusive. In addition to the penalties listed in this 

report, states may impose (1) higher penalties under certain circumstances, such as if the violation 

occurs when children are outside the bus or if the driver passes on the right side of the school bus; 

(2) criminal penalties for violations causing an injury to or death of a person; (3) administrative 

penalties (see summary); or (4) different penalties for violations captured through video monitoring 

systems. We do not include these penalties below. 

 

Table 1: States Permitting a Fine of $1,000 or More for a First Conviction, by Maximum Fine 

State Fine 

Indiana Up to $10,000 

Alaska Up to $2,000 

Missouri Up to $2,000 

Oregon Up to $2,000 

Texas $500 to $1,250 

Arkansas $250 to $1,000 

Maryland Up to $1,000 

Tennessee $250 to $1,000 

Vermont Up to $1,000 

West Virginia $500 to $1,000 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2018/rpt/pdf/2018-R-0289.pdf
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Table 2: States Permitting a Prison Sentence for a First Conviction, by Sentence Length 

State Incarceration Period 

Mississippi Up to one year 

Missouri Up to one year 

Louisiana Up to six months 

West Virginia Up to six months 

Alaska Up to 90 days 

Arkansas Up to 90 days 

Colorado 10 to 90 days 

New Mexico Up to 90 days 

Delaware 30 to 60 days 

Kentucky 30 to 60 days 

Iowa Up to 30 days 

New York Up to 30 days 

South Carolina Up to 30 days 

South Dakota Up to 30 days 

Wyoming Up to 20 days 

New Jersey Up to 15 days 

 

Table 3: States Permitting a License Suspension for a First Conviction, by Suspension Length 

State Suspension Period 

Arkansas 21 days to one year 

Delaware One month to one year 

Ohio Up to one year 

Oklahoma Up to one year 

Illinois 90 days 

Indiana 90 days 

Missouri 90 days 

West Virginia  60 days 

Louisiana 30 days 

Rhode Island Up to 30 days 
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Table 4: State Laws and Penalties for Illegally Passing a School Bus 

State Statute 
Penalties 

Fines Other Applicable Penalties 

Alabama Ala. Admin Code §§ 32-5A-154 
(1975) 

1st conviction: $150 to $300  
2nd conviction: $300 to $500  
3rd conviction: $500 to $1,000  
4th and subsequent convictions: $1,000 to $3,000 

2nd conviction: 100 hours community service and 30-
day license suspension 
3rd conviction: 200 hours of community service and 
90-day license suspension  
4th and subsequent convictions: Class C felony 
conviction and one-year license suspension 

Alaska Alaska Stat. §§ 28.35.145, 
12.55.035, & 12.55.135 

Up to $2,000 
 

Up to 90 days in jail 

Arizona Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 28-857 1st conviction: At least $250 
2nd conviction within three years: At least $750 
3rd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
At least $1,000  

2nd conviction within three years: Up to a six month 
license suspension  
3rd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
Six months to one year license suspension 

Arkansas Ark. Code. Ann. §§ 27-51-1004 & 
27-51-1001 

$250 to $1,000 Up to 90 days in prison; up to 400 hours of 
community service; 21-day to one-year license 
suspension   

California CA VEH Code §§ 22454 & 22454.5 1st conviction: $150 to $250 
2nd conviction: $500 to $1,000 

3rd conviction within three years: One-year license 
suspension 

Colorado Colo. Rev. Stat. §§ 42-4-1903 &  
42-4-1701(3)(a)(II)(A) 

1st conviction: $150 to $300 
2nd conviction: $300 to $1,000 

1st conviction: Possible sentence of 10 to 90 days in 
prison 
2nd conviction: Possible sentence of 10 days to one 
year in prison 

Connecticut CGS § 14-279  1st conviction: $450  
2nd and subsequent convictions: $500 to $1,000 

2nd and subsequent convictions: Up to 30 days in 
prison 

Delaware   Del. Code Ann. Tit. 21. § 4166 1st conviction: $115 to $230 
2nd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
$115 to $575   

1st conviction: Possible sentence of 30 to 60 days in 
prison; 1 month to 1 year license suspension 
2nd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
60 days to six months in prison; 1 month to 1 year 
license suspension 

Florida Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 316.172 & 
318.18(5)(a) 

At least $100, or at least $200 for those who pass 
on the right-hand side of the bus 

2nd and subsequent convictions within five years: 90 
days to 180-day license suspension 

Georgia Ga. Code Ann., § 40-6-163 $250  

Hawaii Haw. Rev. Stat. § 291C-95 Up to $500 Possible community service 

Idaho Idaho Code Ann. § 49-1422 1st conviction: At least $200 
2nd conviction within five years: At least $400 
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State Statute 
Penalties 

Fines Other Applicable Penalties 

3rd conviction within five years: At least $600 

Illinois 625 Ill Comp. Stat. 5/11-1414 1st conviction: $150 
2nd and subsequent convictions: $500 

1st conviction: Three month license suspension 
2nd and subsequent convictions within five years: 
One year license suspension 

Indiana Ind. Code §§ 9-21-12-1 & 34-28-5-4 Up to $10,000 1st conviction: Possible 90 day license suspension 
2nd and subsequent convictions: Possible one-year 
license suspension 

Iowa Iowa Code. § 321.372 1st conviction: $250 to $675 
2nd and subsequent convictions: $315 to $1,875 

1st conviction: Up to 30 days in prison 
2nd and subsequent convictions: Up to one year in 
prison 

Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 8-1556 & 8-2118 1st conviction: $315 
2nd conviction within five years: $750 
3rd and subsequent convictions within five years: 
$1,000 

 

Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.  §§ 189.370 & 
189.990(5) 

1st conviction: $100 to $200 
2nd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
$300 to $500 

1st conviction: Possible 30 to 60 days in prison 
2nd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
Possible 60 days to six months in prison 

Louisiana LA. Rev. Stat. Ann. 32:80 $100 to $500  Up to six months in prison and: 
1st conviction: 30-day license suspension 
2nd conviction: 60-day license suspension 
3rd conviction: One-year license suspension 

Maine ME Rev. Stat. Ann. 29-A § 2308 At least $250 2nd  and subsequent convictions within three years: 
30-day license suspension 

Maryland MD Code Ann. Transp. §§ 21-706 Up to $1,000  

Massachusetts Mass Gen. Laws 90 § 14 1st conviction: At least than $250 
2nd conviction: $500 to $1,000 
3rd and subsequent convictions: $1,000 to $2,000 

2nd conviction: Six-month license suspension 
3rd and subsequent convictions: One-year license 
suspension 

Michigan Mich. Comp. Laws §§ 257.682 & 
257.907 

$100 to $500 Up to 100 hours of community service at a school 

Minnesota Minn. Stat. §§ 169.444, 609.02 & 
609.0341 

Misdemeanor: At least $500 
Gross misdemeanor: Up to $3,000 

Misdemeanor: Up to 90 days in prison 
Gross misdemeanor: Up to one year in prison 

Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 63-3-615 1st conviction: $350 to $750 
2nd and subsequent convictions within five years: 
$750 to $1,500 

1st conviction: Up to one year in prison 
2nd and subsequent convictions within five years: Up 
to one year in prison and 90-day license suspension 

Missouri MO Rev. Stat. §§ 304.050, 304.070, Up to $2,000 1st conviction: Up to one year in prison, possible 90-
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State Statute 
Penalties 

Fines Other Applicable Penalties 

558.011 & 560.016 day license suspension 
2nd and subsequent convictions: Up to one year in 
prison, possible 120-day license suspension  

Montana Mont Code Ann. § 61-8-351 Up to $500  

Nebraska Neb. Rev. St. §§ 60-6, 175 & 28-106 $500  

Nevada Nev. Rev. Stat. 484B.353 1st conviction: $250 to $500 
2nd conviction within one year: $250 to $500  
3rd and subsequent convictions within two years: Up 
to $1,000 

2nd conviction within one year: Six-month license 
suspension 
3rd and subsequent convictions within two years: Up 
to one-year license suspension 

New 
Hampshire 

NH Rev. Stat § 265:54 1st conviction: $150 plus penalty assessment  
2nd and subsequent convictions: $250 to $1,000 plus 
penalty assessment 

2nd and subsequent convictions: Possible 30-day 
license suspension 
 

New Jersey NJ Rv. Stat. 39:4-128.1 1st conviction: At least $100 
2nd and subsequent convictions: At least $250 

1st conviction: Up to 15 days in prison or community 
service for 15 days 
2nd conviction: Up to 15 days in prison 

New Mexico N.M. Stat. 1978, §§ 66-7-347 &  
66-8-7 

Up to $300 Up to 90 days in prison 

New York NY VAT Law § 1174 1st conviction: $250 to $400 
2nd conviction within three years: $600 to $750 
3rd and subsequent convictions within three years: 
$750 to $1,000    

1st conviction: Up to 30 days in prison  
2nd or subsequent convictions within three years: Up 
to 180 days in prison    

North Carolina N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-217 At least $500 2nd conviction: If within three years of first conviction, 
one year license suspension 

North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code §§ 39-10-46 &  
39-06.1-06 

$100  

Ohio Ohio Rev. Code §§ 4511.75 & 
4510.02 

Up to $500 Up to one-year license suspension 

Oklahoma Okla. Stat. Ann. §§ 47-11-705 &  
47-6-205(F) 

At least $100 Up to one-year license suspension 

Oregon OR. Rev. Stat. §§ 811.155 & 
153.018 

Up to $2,000  

Pennsylvania 75 PA. Cons. Stat. § 3345 $250  

Rhode Island R.I. Gen. Laws 31-20-12 1st conviction: Up to $300 
2nd conviction: $300 to $500 

1st conviction: Up to 30-day license suspension 
2nd conviction: Possible one-year license 
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State Statute 
Penalties 

Fines Other Applicable Penalties 

suspension 

South Carolina SC Code Ann. §§ 56-5-2770 &  
56-5-2780 

1st conviction: At least $500 
2nd and subsequent convictions: $2,000 to $5,000 

1st conviction: Up to 30 days in prison or possible 
community service for a minimum of 10 days 
2nd and subsequent convictions: Possible 30 to 60 
days in prison 

South Dakota S.D. Codified Laws §§ 32-32-6 & 
22-6-2 

$500 Up to 30 days in prison 

Tennessee Tenn. Code. Ann. 55-8-151 $250 to $1,000  

Texas Tex. Transp. Code § 545.066 1st conviction: $500 to $1,250 
2nd and subsequent convictions within five years: 
$1,000 to $2,000 

2nd and subsequent convictions: Up to a 6-month 
license suspension 

Utah Utah Code Ann. 1953 § 41-6a-1302 1st conviction: At least $100 
2nd conviction within three years: At least $200 
3rd and subsequent conviction within three years: At 
least $500 

Possible compensatory service in lieu of the fine 

Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 23 §§ 1075 & 
2302 

Up to $1,000  

Virginia VA Code Ann. § 46.2-844 $250  

Washington Wash. Rev. Code 46.61.370 Up to $500   

West Virginia W. Va Code, § 17C-12-7 1st conviction: $500 to $1,000 
2nd conviction: $1,000 to $1,500 
3rd and subsequent convictions: $2,000 

1st conviction: Up to six months in jail, 60-day 
license suspension 
2nd conviction: Up to six months in jail, 180-day 
license suspension 
3rd and subsequent convictions: Required 48 hours 
to six months in jail, one year license suspension 

Wisconsin Wis. Stat. Ann. §§ 346.48 & 346.49 $30 to $300  

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. §§ 31-5-507 & 31-5-1201 1st conviction: $195 to $745 
Subsequent conviction within one year: $395 to 
$995 
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