
 

www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

OLRequest@cga.ct.gov 

 

Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 

Stephanie A. D’Ambrose, Director 

(860) 240-8400 

Room 5300 

 Legislative Office Building 

 

 

 

Penalty for Hunting Black Bear 
  

By: Kristen Miller, Senior Legislative Attorney 

December 10, 2018 | 2018-R-0338 
 

 

Issue  

What is the penalty for hunting black bears in Connecticut? Has the penalty changed in the past 10 

years? 

 

Summary 

It is illegal to hunt black bears in Connecticut (Conn. Agencies Regs. § 26-66-3(f)), and people who 

do so face fines, imprisonment, and hunting license suspension or revocation.  

 

The extent of the penalty depends upon whether the crime is a first, second, or subsequent 

offense. Possible fines range from up to $500 to up to $1,000 and prison terms range from up to 

30 days to up to six months. A person convicted of bear hunting may receive both a fine and a 

prison sentence. In addition, a first- or second-time offender has his or her hunting license 

temporarily suspended, for at least one or two years respectively, and a subsequent offender has 

his or her hunting license revoked. 

 

PA 08-144 established the specific penalty for hunting black bear. Before the act passed, hunters 

were subject to the law’s generic hunting penalty. The legislature generally reduced the possible 

amount of fines and length of imprisonment in PA 12-80, which are the existing penalties.  

 

Penalty for Bear Hunting 

A first-time offender is subject to a fine of up to $500, imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both. A 

second-time offender is subject to a fine of up to $750, imprisonment for up to three months, or 

both. A third-time or subsequent offender faces a fine of up to $1,000, imprisonment for up to six 

months, or both. 
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The law also requires the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection commissioner, upon 

a conviction for illegal bear hunting, to suspend (1) a first-time offender’s hunting license for at 

least one year and (2) a second-time offender’s hunting license for at least two years. The 

commissioner must revoke the hunting license of a third-time or subsequent offender (CGS § 26-

80a). 

 

Changes to Penalties 

The legislature created penalties specific to bear hunting in PA 08-144. Previously, the state’s 

general hunting penalties applied, which subjected offenders to fines of up to $200, imprisonment 

for up to 60 days, or both. The law also allowed the commissioner to suspend a person’s hunting 

license.  

 

As shown in the table below, the 2008 legislation increased the possible fines and extended the 

possible prison term. It also established graduated penalties and specified minimum license 

suspension requirements. PA 12-80 reduced the possible fines by capping them at the minimum 

amounts set in 2008. It also generally decreased the potential prison terms. By law, someone 

convicted of illegal bear hunting may receive both a fine and a prison sentence. 

  

Table: Legislation on the Penalties for Hunting Black Bear 

Penalty Type 
PA 08-144 

PA 12-80 (Existing Penalties, as 
codified at CGS § 26-80a) 

Offense Penalty Offense Penalty 

Fine 

1st At least $500 1st  Up to $500 

2nd At least $750 2nd Up to $750 

3rd or more At least $1,000 3rd or more Up to $1,000 

 

Imprisonment 

1st  Up to 90 days 1st  Up to 30 days 

2nd Up to 120 days 2nd Up to three months 

3rd or more Up to 180 days 3rd or more Up to six months 

 

License 
Suspension/Revocation 

1st  At least one year 
suspension 

1st  At least one year 
suspension 

2nd At least two years’ 
suspension 

2nd At least two years’ 
suspension 

3rd or more Permanent revocation 3rd or more Permanent revocation 
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