Connecticut Seal

Substitute Senate Bill No. 25

Public Act No. 16-154


Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. Subsection (a) of section 10a-156b of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (Effective July 1, 2016):

(a) There are established special police forces for The University of Connecticut at Storrs and its several campuses, including, but not limited to, The University of Connecticut Health Center in Farmington, and for Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic and Western Connecticut State University in Danbury. Subject to the approval of the Board of Regents for Higher Education, there are established special police forces for Asnuntuck Community College in Enfield, Capital Community College in Hartford, Gateway Community College in New Haven, Housatonic Community College in Bridgeport, Manchester Community College in Manchester, Middlesex Community College in Middletown, Naugatuck Valley Community College in Waterbury, Northwestern Connecticut Community College in Winsted, Norwalk Community College in Norwalk, Quinebaug Valley Community College in Danielson, Three Rivers Community College in Norwich, and Tunxis Community College in Farmington. The members of each special police force shall have the same duties, responsibilities and authority under sections 7-281, 14-8, 54-1f and 54-33a and title 53a as members of a duly organized local police department. The jurisdiction of said special police forces shall extend to the geographical limits of the property owned or under the control of the above institutions, and to property occupied by The University of Connecticut in the town of Mansfield, except as provided in subsection (b) of section 7-277a.

Approved June 6, 2016