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VERMONT’S PENSION LENDING LAW 

  

By: Michelle Kirby, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

Provide a summary of Vermont’s Pension Lending law. 

SUMMARY 

In 2014, Vermont enacted a law intended to prohibit 

unlawful and predatory lending practices that target 

retirement pension proceeds. The stated intent of the 

bill that became law “is to ensure that practices which 

unfairly disrupt or interfere with retirees’ abilities to 

manage their pension income will be treated as 

unlawful lending and subject to applicable Vermont 

laws” (2014 Vt. Acts & Resolves 109 (S. 223)).   

Under the law, which became effective July, 1 2014, 

anyone who engages in the business of offering 

consideration in exchange for a secured interest in the 

pension proceeds of a participant, beneficiary, or 

member of a pension plan, program, or system is 

deemed to be engaged in the business of making 

loans and is subject to state’s banking and consumer 

protection laws (VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 8 § 2245).  

Specifically, the law requires anyone engaged in the business of making pension 

loans to first obtain a license from the Department of Financial Regulation (VT. STAT. 

ANN. tit. 8 §§ 2201(a)(1) & 2245).   

This law does not prevent borrowing against future pension payouts.  Instead, it 

regulates pension lending practice the same way other lending is regulated under 

Vermont law.  It subjects violators to strict penalties, such as fines up to $10,000 

per violation. 

PENSION LOAN 

A pension loan requires a 

retiree to sign over all or some 

of his or her monthly pension 

checks for a period of time, 

typically five to 10 years. In 

return, the retiree gets a lump 

sum payment, less than the 

pension payments signed 

over.  

The loan often includes fees 

that can make the effective 

annual percentage rate very 

high. In addition, retirees are 

sometimes required to buy a 

life insurance policy, naming 

the pension advance company 

as the beneficiary, to ensure 

that the repayments continue. 

Source: Federal Trade Commission 
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PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF THE PENSION LENDING LAW 

Under Vermont law, each violation of the banking and consumer protection laws or 

failure to comply with any of the commissioner’s directives or orders is a separate 

and distinct violation.  The commissioner may impose a fine up to $10,000 for each 

violation and order the violator to make restitution to the victim. 

Any loan made in violation of the law is void.  If the violation was not done 

knowingly or willfully, the lender may not collect or receive any interest or charges 

but has a right to collect and receive the principal amount.  If the violation was 

done knowingly and willfully, the lender has no right to collect or receive any 

principal, interest, or charges.   

If a lender is ordered to stop issuing loans and is assessed penalties for violations 

but continues to issue loans or fails to resolve or satisfy the penalties, any loan 

made after receipt of the order is void and the lender has no right to collect or 

receive any principal, interest, or charges.  Making such a loan is a criminal offense, 

punishable by a fine up to $100,000, up to one year in prison, or both (VT. STAT. 

ANN. tit. 8 § 2215). 
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