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ISSUE 

Which states limit cadmium in children’s jewelry, 

and what are the penalties for violating such 

laws? 

SUMMARY  

At least six states (California, Connecticut, 

Illinois, Maryland, Minnesota, and Washington) 

limit the amount of cadmium in children’s 

jewelry.  But only California, Illinois, and 

Washington provide specific penalties for 

violations.  California’s penalties range from a 

civil fine of up to $2,500 to a misdemeanor with a 

chance of imprisonment and a $100,000 fine; 

Illinois allows for civil penalties, including fines of 

up to $50,000; and Washington penalizes 

violating manufacturers with fines of up to $10,000. 

Cadmium is a natural metallic element found in the earth's crust. The U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services has determined that cadmium and its 

compounds are human carcinogens.  Some animal studies indicate that the young 

(1) absorb more cadmium than adults and (2) are more susceptible than adults to 

bone loss and decreased bone strength from cadmium exposure. 

CALIFORNIA  

California law prohibits anyone from manufacturing and selling children's jewelry 

with more than .03% (by weight) of cadmium.  This limit applies to jewelry 

marketed to children age six or younger (Cal. Health & Safety Code § 25214.2). 

CADMIUM LAWS 

• At least six states, including 

Connecticut, limit the amount 

of cadmium allowed in 

children’s jewelry  

• The limits of allowable 

cadmium are as follows: 

     · California .03% 

     · Connecticut .0075% 

     · Illinois .0075% 

     · Maryland .0075% 

     · Minnesota .0075% 

     · Washington .004% 
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Violators of the law are subject to a maximum fine of $2,500 per day for each 

violation.  Additionally, jewelry manufacturers or suppliers who knowingly and 

intentionally violate the law are guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to fines of 

between $5,000 and $100,000, up to one year imprisonment, or both.  And if, with 

intent to deceive, they falsify any document required to be kept or produced, they 

are subject to a maximum fine of $50,000, one year imprisonment, or both (Cal. 

Health & Safety §§ 25214.3.3 & -25214.3.4). 

CONNECTICUT 

Effective July 1, 2016, Connecticut law limits the allowable amount of cadmium in 

children’s jewelry to a maximum of .0075% (by weight) (CGS § 21a-12d).  Under 

the law, “jewelry,” includes charms, bracelets, pendants, necklaces, earrings or 

rings, and any component intended to be worn by children age 12 or younger. 

ILLINOIS 

Illinois law prohibits anyone from manufacturing, selling, or distributing children’s 

jewelry containing more than .0075% of cadmium on any accessible surface (e.g., 

paint or surface coating) (430 Ill. Comp. Stat. 140/15).  This limit applies to jewelry 

made, marketed, or designed for, or intended primarily for children under age 12. 

If the state attorney general believes a violation of law has occurred, he or she may 

seek judicial action.  This includes seeking civil remedies such as permanent or 

preliminary injunctions and restraining orders.  The attorney general may also 

request the court to impose a civil penalty of up to $50,000 for each violation (430 

Ill. Comp. Stat. 140/30).  Each item and standard constitutes a separate violation 

and is in addition to any penalties, injunctions, or other relief allowed by law.   

MARYLAND 

Maryland law prohibits anyone from manufacturing, selling, or offering to sell 

children’s jewelry containing more than .0075% (by weight) of cadmium (Md. Code 

Ann., Envir. § 6-1402). 

Maryland law applies to jewelry including charms, bracelets, pendants, necklaces, 

earrings or rings, and any component intended to be worn by children age 12 or 

younger (Md. Code Ann., Envir. § 6-1401). 
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http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3270&ChapterID=39
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3270&ChapterID=39
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3270&ChapterID=39
http://www.mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmStatutesText.aspx?article=gen&section=6-1402&ext=html&session=2016RS&tab=subject5
http://www.mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmStatutesText.aspx?article=gen&section=6-1402&ext=html&session=2016RS&tab=subject5
http://www.mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmStatutesText.aspx?article=gen&section=6-1401&ext=html&session=2016RS&tab=subject5
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MINNESOTA 

Minnesota law prohibits manufacturers, wholesalers, and retailers from selling or 

offering to sell children’s jewelry with more than .0075% of cadmium on any 

accessible surface (Minn. Stat. § 325E.3891). 

This limit applies to jewelry made for or marketed to children age six or younger 

(Minn. Stat. § 325E.389) 

WASHINGTON 

Washington’s Children’s Safe Products law prohibits manufacturers, wholesalers, 

and retailers from knowingly selling, offering to sell, or distributing, among other 

metals, cadmium at more than .004% (by weight) (Wash. Rev. Code § 

70.240.020). 

Manufacturers that violate this law are subject to a maximum civil fine of $5,000 for 

a first offense and $10,000 for each subsequent offense (Wash. Rev. Code § 

70.240.050). 
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