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ISSUE  

Describe Connecticut’s insurance premium tax.  

SUMMARY 

Connecticut imposes an insurance premium tax 

on insurance premiums and health care center 

subscription charges (CGS §§ 12-201 et seq.). 

For authorized insurers, the tax rate is 1.75% of 

the annual direct net premiums for policies on 

property or risks in Connecticut. For people and 

entities purchasing insurance from unauthorized 

insurers, the tax rate is 4% of the gross 

premiums charged for the insurance. The rate for 

health care centers is 1.75% of direct net 

subscription charges.  

The law exempts premiums for specified policies 

and subscription charges paid by enrollees of 

specified health care plans. Insurers and health 

care centers also qualify for various credits 

against the tax, a portion of which they must pay 

each calendar quarter. They and the parties 

purchasing insurance from unauthorized insurers 

are liable for penalties if they underpay the 

required amount or inaccurately estimate their annual tax liability.  

Attachment 1 outlines the insurance premium tax’s structure. 

INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 

REVENUE  

The insurance premium tax 

generated on average about 

$240 million in FYs 13-15 or 

1.67% of total state tax 

revenues. The table below 

shows the insurance premium 

tax revenues for each of those 

fiscal years and the share of 

total state tax revenues.  

Insurance Premium Tax Revenue as a 

Share of Total Tax Revenue: FYs 13-15 

(in millions) 

 
 

FY 

 
 

Total Tax 
Revenue 

Insurance Premium 
Tax 

Total 
Revenue 

% of 
Total  
State 
Tax 

Revenue 

13 $14,552.7 $260.9 1.8 

14 14,323.1 240.7 1.7 

15 14,792.3 220.6 1.5 
Source: Office of Fiscal Analysis  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_207.htm#sec_12-201
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX  

Taxable Transactions   

The insurance premium tax is a tax on insurance premiums and health care 

subscription charges. Insurers licensed to do business in Connecticut (i.e., 

authorized insurers) pay a tax of 1.75% of their annual net direct premiums for 

property or risk insured in Connecticut, excluding cancellations and other returned 

premiums and dividends paid to policyholders on direct business. These insurers 

include those incorporated in Connecticut (i.e., domestic insurers) and those 

incorporated in other states or countries (i.e., foreign insurers).  

People and entities that purchase insurance from unlicensed insurers (i.e., 

unauthorized insurers) pay a tax of 4% of the gross premiums, including 

membership fees, assessments, dues, and other considerations for insurance. 

Unauthorized insurers typically insure unique or uncommon conditions or 

circumstances.  

Health care centers pay a tax of 1.75% of their annual direct net subscriber 

charges, excluding cancellations and other returned charges.  

Tax Exemptions  

The law exempts premiums (1) foreign insurers receive for marine insurance 

policies and (2) paid for marine related policies (i.e., “wet marine” and 

transportation insurance) issued by unauthorized insurers.  

The law also exempts charges health care centers receive from people enrolled in 

specified health care plans, including Medicaid, Medicare, HUSKY, and state 

employee health plans.  

There are no exemptions for domestic insurers.  

Insurer and Health Care Center Tax Credit   

Domestic insurers with admitted assets under $95 million qualify for a credit equal 

to 80% of their annual corporation business taxes and Insurance Department 

assessments.  

Domestic and foreign insurers and health care centers also qualify for a wide range 

of credits for various expenditures, including purchasing electronic data processing 

equipment, contributing funds to specified charitable purposes, and investing in 

specified economic development projects or funds. Attachment 2 identifies and 

describes these credits.    
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Payment Schedule  

Licensed insurers and health care centers pay a portion of the tax each calendar 

quarter. They must pay 30% of the total tax by March 15, 60% by June 15, 80% 

by September 15, and 100% by December 15. The total tax must equal 90% of 

their estimated annual tax or 100% of the taxes paid for the prior year.  

People and entities purchasing insurance from unauthorized insurers must pay the 

tax by March first of the calendar following the year they purchased the insurance.  

Penalties  

Insurers and health care centers that underpay the required quarterly installment 

must pay interest on the unpaid amount at a rate of 1% per month for each month 

until they pay the balance. They are also subject to penalties if the insurance 

commissioner finds a deficiency in their annual returns.  

People and entities purchasing insurance from unauthorized insurers are also liable 

for penalties if they fail to pay the tax on time. The penalty is 10% of the tax or 

$75, whichever is greater plus interest at 1% per month until the tax is paid.  
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Attachment 1: Structure of the Insurance Premium Tax  

Taxable Transactions  

Sale of insurance policies  Sale of subscriptions for health 

care center services 

Taxpayers  

Domestic Insurance Companies 

(i.e., companies incorporated in 

Connecticut) 

Foreign Insurance Companies 

(i.e., companies incorporated in 

other states)  

People and entities purchasing 

insurance from unauthorized 

insurers (i.e., insurers covering 

unique or uncommon risks) 

Health Care Centers  

Tax Bases  

Total net direct premiums 

excluding:  

 Cancellations and other 

returned premiums and 

 Dividends paid to 

policyholders on direct 

business 

Total net direct premiums 

excluding:  

 Cancellations and other 

returned premiums and 

 Dividends paid to 

policyholders on direct 

business 

Gross premiums, including 

membership fees, assessments, 

dues, and other consideration for 

insurance, excluding premiums 

paid for marine related policies 

Net direct subscriber charges, 

excluding cancellations and 

other returned charges 

Exemptions  

No exemptions  Ocean marine insurance 

(policies on goods shipped by 

water)  

Wet marine and transportation 

insurance (i.e., insurance 

covering vessels, marine 

builders’ risks, marine-related 

freight and disbursements, and 

shipped personal property)  

Subscription charges paid by 

people enrolled in specified 

health care plans, including 

Medicaid, Medicare, HUSKY, 

and state employee health plan 

Tax Rates  

For domestic and foreign insurers: 1.75% of net direct premiums  

 

4% of gross premium  1.75% of net subscriber charges  

Tax Credits by Taxpayer  

 Companies with admitted 

assets under $95 million 

qualify for credits equal to 

80% of corporation 

business taxes and 

Insurance Department 

assessments paid during 

calendar year 

 Plus credits for various 

charitable, business, and 

economic development 

purposes, up to statutory 

caps (see Attachment 2)  

Credits for various charitable, 

business, and economic 

development purposes, up to 

statutory caps (see Attachment 

2)  

No credits  Credits for various charitable, 

business, and economic 

development purposes, up to 

statutory caps (see Attachment 

2) 
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Attachment 1 (continued) 

 

Tax Payment Schedule  

For domestic and foreign insurers, quarterly installment payments: 

 January 1-March 31, 30%, due March 15 

 April 1-June 30, 60%, due June 15 

 July 1-September 30, 80%, due  September 15 

 October 1-December 31, 100%, due December 15 

March 1 following the year the 

insurance was purchased 

Quarterly installment payments: 

 January 1-March 31, 30%, 

due March 15 

 April 1-June 30, 60%, due 

June 15 

 July 1-September 30, 80%, 

due  September 15 

 October 1-December 31, 

100%, due December 15 

Enforcement 

For licensed domestic and foreign insurers:  

 Penalties and interest charges for missing quarterly payment 

deadlines: 

o For missing deadline: greater or 10% of tax due or 

$50 for missing deadline, plus interest at 1% per 

month from deadline until payment 

o For failing to submit a return within three months of 

filing deadline, commissioner may make the return 

and impose the above penalty 

o For willfully failing to pay tax, make the return, or 

provide required information, $1,000 fine, term of 

imprisonment up to one year, or both  

 Insurance commissioner must audit returns within three years of 

receipt and must penalize taxpayers for deficient payments: 

o Lesser of 10% of deficiency or $50 if the taxpayer 

was negligent or intentionally disregarded the law or 

implementing regulations or  

o 25% of deficiency if the taxpayer committed fraud or 

intentionally tried to evade the law  

o Taxpayer must also pay interest equal to 1% of the 

deficiency assessment from the original tax’s due 

date 

Commissioner’s action subject to administrative hearing and 

appeal to Superior Court  

For people and entities 

purchasing insurance from 

unauthorized insurers, 10% 

penalty or $75, whichever is 

greater plus monthly 1% interest 

from the tax’s due date 

For health care centers, same as 

licensed domestic and foreign 

insurers 
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Attachment 2: Tax Credits Against the Insurance Premium Tax  

 

Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward or 

Carryback 
Transferable 

Electronic Data Processing 
Equipment 
 
(CGS § 12-217t; 1994) 

Businesses paying property taxes on computers, 
printers, peripheral computer equipment, bundled 
software, and similar equipment  

Credit equals 100% of property tax paid on 
electronic data processing equipment  

Five-year 
carryforward; no 
carryback 

No 

Neighborhood Assistance Act  
 
(CGS §§ 12-630aa et seq.; 
1982) * 
 

Minimum $250 contribution toward municipally-
approved community service program  

 Total credits for all projects capped at $5 
million per year  

 Credit equals 100% for energy conservation 
and college access loan forgiveness 
programs; 60% for all other programs; in both 
cases, credit amount capped at $150,000 
annually 

 

No carryforward; 
two-year 
carryback 

No 

Neighborhood Assistance Act, 
Energy Conservation  
 
(CGS § 12-635;1982) * 

Minimum $250 contribution toward municipally-
approved community service program 

 Total credits for all projects capped at $5 
million per year  

 100% credit for energy conservation in 
properties: 
o where at least 75% of the occupants earn 

no more than 150% of the poverty level or 
o owned and occupied by charitable 

corporations, foundations, trusts, or other 
entities 

 

No carryforward; 
two-year 
carryback 

No 

Small Business Creating Jobs  
 
(CGS § 12-217nn; 2010; sunset 
December 31, 2012) ** 

 Businesses with fewer than 50 employees in 
Connecticut that create new jobs filled by 
Connecticut residents 

 New employees must work at least 35 hours 
per week for at least 48 weeks per calendar 
year 

 Credits available only for jobs created 
between May 6, 2010 and December 31, 
2012 

 Total credits for these and other job creation 
tax credits capped at $20 million per year  

 Three-year, $200 per month per new 
employee credit  
 

No carryforward 
or carryback 

No 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217t.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_228a.htm#Sec12-630aa.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_228a.htm#Sec12-635.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217nn.htm
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Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward or 

Carryback 
Transferable 

Job Expansion Tax (JET) Credit 
Program  
 
(CGS § 12-217pp; 2011; sunset 
December 31, 2013) 

 Business creating jobs between January 1, 
2012 and December 31, 2013 

 Required number of jobs to be created 
depends on number of existing employees 

 Minimum required hours depending on type 
of employee: 
o New employees must work at least 35 

hours per week for at least 48 weeks 
per calendar year 

o Previously unemployed employees and 
those receiving services from the 
Departments of Rehabilitation Services 
or participating in Department of Social 
Services programs must work at least 
20 hours per week for 48 weeks per 
calendar year (i.e., qualifying 
employees) 

 Total credits for these and other job creation 
tax credits capped at $40 million over the 
duration of the JET credit program**  

 Three-year credit: 
o $500 per new employee or 
o $900 per qualifying employee meeting 

specified criteria  

 Economic and community development 
commissioner must base her decision on 
whether to approve second- or third-year 
credits for new employees on whether doing 
so is consistent with the state’s economic 
development priorities 
 

No carryforward 
or carryback 

No 

Neighborhood Assistance Act, 
Day Care and Job Training 
  
(CGS §§ 12-634 and 12-635; 
1982) * 

Minimum $250 contribution toward municipally-
approved community service program 
 
 
 

 Total credits for all projects capped at $5 
million per year  

 Credit equals 60% credit for contributions to:  
o daycare facilities used primarily by 

business’ employees (capped at 
$50,000 per year per business) or  

o specified job training programs 
 

No carryforward; 
two-year 
carryback 

No 

Contributions to Low- and 
Moderate-Income Housing 
Programs 
 
(CGS § 8-395; 1987) 

Minimum $250 cash contribution to Connecticut 
Housing Finance Authority-approved housing 
programs managed by nonprofit organizations  

 Total credits capped at $10 million per year  

 Total credit-eligible contributions per program 
capped at $500,000 per year per organization  

 

Five-year 
carryforward and 
carryback 

No 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217pp.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_228a.htm#Sec12-634.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_228a.htm#Sec12-635.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_138g.htm#Sec8-395.htm
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Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward 
or Carryback 

Transferable 

Historic Homes Rehabilitation 
 
(CGS § 10-416; 1999) 

 Qualified rehabilitation expenditure must 
exceed $25,000 (threshold reduced to 
$15,000 effective July, 1, 2015) 

 Businesses contributing funds towards the 
rehabilitation qualify for credits if the 
individual or nonprofit organization that did 
the work designated them for the credits 

 Property must be: 
o one- to four-unit dwelling 
o listed on the national or state Register 

of Historic Places or be located in an 
historic district and contribute to its 
character 

o located in targeted areas (available 
statewide effective July 1, 2015, subject 
to annual credit cap) 

o occupied as owner’s principal residence 
for at least five years  

 Total credits capped at $3 million per year; 
beginning July 1, 2015, $2.1 million of the 
credits reserved for homes rehabilitated in 
targeted areas 

 Credit equals 30% of eligible construction 
costs, up to $30,000 per dwelling unit (up to 
$50,000 per unit, effective July 1, 2015, for 
businesses that contribute to projects 
undertaken by nonprofit organizations) 

 

Four-year 
carryforward; 
no carryback 

No 

Converting Historic Business 
Property to Residential Uses  
 
(CGS § 10-416a; 2006, no new 
credits may be reserved after 
July 1, 2014) 

 Qualified rehabilitation expenditures for 
converting historic business structures to 
residential use 

 The following types of property listed on the 
national or state Register of Historic Places 
or located in an historic district on the 
national or state register: 
o commercial or industrial 
o cultural  
o institutional 
o government 
o residential with at least five units  

 Total credits capped at $15 million per year 

 Credit equals 25% of qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures, up to $2.7 million  

 

Five-year 
carryforward; 
no carryback 

Yes, credit 
owner may 
transfer the 
credit, but 
assignee may 
not further 
transfer it  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_184b.htm#Sec10-416.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_184b.htm#Sec10-416a.htm
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Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward 
or Carryback 

Transferable 

Rehabilitating Historic Business 
Property for Mixed Residential 
and Commercial Use  
 
(CGS § 10-416b; 2007, no new 
credits may be reserved after 
July 1, 2014) 

 Rehabilitation of certified historic business 
property for mixed residential and 
nonresidential uses or residential uses  

 The following types of property listed on the 
national or state Register of Historic Places 
or located in an historic district on the 
national or state register: 
o commercial or industrial 
o cultural  
o institutional 
o government 
o residential with at least five units 

 Total credits capped at $50 million per three-
year cycle, beginning with FYs 09-11 

 Credit equals 25% of qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures; 30% if project includes units 
affordable to low- and moderate-income 
people 

 No project can receive more than 10% of 
credits ($5 million) available for the three-year 
cycle  

 

Five-year 
carryforward; 
no carryback 

Yes, credit 
owner may 
transfer the 
credit, but 
assignee may 
not further 
transfer it 

Rehabilitating Certified Historic 
Structures  
 
(CGS § 10-416c; 2014) 

Property (1) listed on the national or state 
Register of Historic Places or (2) located in an 
historic district on the national or state register 
and certified as contributing to its historic 
character 
 

 Total credits capped at $31.7 million per year  

 Credit equals 25% of qualified rehabilitation 
expenditures; 30% if project includes units 
affordable to low- and moderate-income 
people 

 No project can receive more than $4.5 million 
in credits 

Five-year 
carryforward; 
no carryback 

Yes, up to three 
times 

Urban and Industrial Sites 
Reinvestment  
(CGS § 32-9t; 2000)  

 Businesses investing in projects developing 
or redeveloping property, including 
brownfields, that meet statutory criteria, 
including generating new tax revenue and 
other economic benefits  

 Minimum asset value of each investment 
depends on whether taxpayers invest 
directly in a project or invest indirectly 
through a fund manager  

 

 Total credits available for all projects capped 
at $800 million 

 Credit equals 100% of investment up to $100 
million, spread out over 10 years:  
o 0% in first three years after investment 

was made  
o 10% per year in the next four years, and 
o 20% in the remaining three years 

  

Five-year 
carryforward; 
no carryback 

Yes, credit 
owner may 
transfer the 
credit, but 
assignee may 
not further 
transfer it 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_184b.htm#Sec10-416b.htm
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_184b.htm#sec_10-416c
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_578.htm#Sec32-9t.htm
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Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward or 

Carryback 
Transferable 

Film Production  
(CGS § 12-217jj, 2006; two-year 
moratorium for FY 14 and FY 
15) 

 Production companies producing a qualified 
production must incur specified production 
expenses and costs in Connecticut and: 
o conduct at least 50% of principal 

photography days in Connecticut or 
o incur 50% or $1 million of post 

production costs here  

 Qualified productions include “relocated 
television productions”: 
o filming in qualified production facility 
o investing at least $25 million  
o creating at least 200 jobs  

 For FY 14 and FY 15, no tax credit vouchers 
may be issued for motion pictures that have 
not been designated as state-certified 
productions prior to July 1, 2013, with the 
following exception: 

During FY 15, a motion picture 
may receive a voucher if it  
conducts at least 25% of its 
principal photography days in a 
Connecticut facility that (1) 
receives at least $25 million in 
private investment and (2) opens 
for business on or after July 1, 
2013  

 Three-tiered credits: 
o 10% for eligible expenditures between 

$100,000-$500,000 
o 15% for eligible expenditures between 

$500,000 and $1 million 
o 30% for eligible expenditures over $1 

million 

 Credit certification for relocated television 
production companies is good for 10 years 

 

All or any part of 
the tax credit may 
be claimed in the 
year 
the production 
expenses or 
costs were 
incurred or in any 
of the three 
succeeding years 
 

Yes, up to three 
times, subject to 
limitations 
 
With certain 
exceptions, an 
entity that is not 
subject to the 
insurance 
premiums or 
corporation tax 
may not assign 
more than 25% 
of its tax credits 
in any one 
income year  

Film Production Infrastructure  
 
(CGS § 12-217kk, 2007)  

Business must spend at least $3 million 
developing building, facilities, and installations 
needed for film and digital media production  

 

 20% credit  

 Infrastructure must be 100% completed 
before credit can be claimed  

All or any part of 
the tax credit may 
be claimed in the 
year 
the production 
expenses or 
costs were 
incurred or in any 
of the three 
succeeding years 

Yes, up to three 
times 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217jj.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217kk.htm
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Tax Credit Program and Year 
Enacted 

Eligibility Criteria Credit Limits 
Carryforward 
or Carryback 

Transferable 

Digital Animation Production  
 
(CGS § 12-217ll, 2007) 

 Business must incur eligible production 
expenses and costs in Connecticut 

 Eligible costs and expenses include 
intellectual property, production equipment, 
and trailers 

 Total annual credits capped at $15 million  

 Three-tiered credit: 
o 10% for expenditures between $100,000-

$500,000 
o 15% for expenditures between $500,000 

and $1 million 
o 30% for expenditures over $1 million 

All or any part 
of the tax credit 
may be claimed 
in the year 
the production 
expenses or 
costs were 
incurred or in 
any 
of the three 
succeeding 
years 

Yes, up to three 
times 

Insurance Reinvestment  
 
(CGS § 38a-88a, 1994) 

 Insurance companies investing cash in 
state-certified “insurance reinvestment 
funds” 

 Funds must invest the cash only in eligible 
Connecticut-based businesses and meet 
other investment requirements  

 100% of cash investment claimed over 10 
years, beginning in the fourth year after 
investment was made: 
o 10% per year in years four through seven 
o 20% per year in years eight through 10 

Five-year carry 
forward; no 
carryback 

Yes, credit 
owner may 
transfer the 
credit, but 
assignee may 
not further 
transfer it 

 
* PA 11-140 expanded the credits to these businesses but did not make corresponding changes to the statutory procedures for claiming the credit 

**  The law caps the total amount of tax credits that may be issued under four job creation tax credit programs (i.e., new job creation, small business job creation, vocational rehabilitation job 

creation, and job expansion tax credits).  PA 13-232 changed the credit cap on the JET credits, from $20 million per year to $40 million over the duration of the JET program, but did not make 

conforming changes to the caps in the other programs’ statutes.  Two of these credit programs, the new job creation and vocational rehabilitation job creation tax credits, are now defunct. 

JR:bs 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_208.htm#Sec12-217ll.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_698.htm#Sec38a-88a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40&which_year=2011&SUBMIT1.x=0&SUBMIT1.y=0
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013

