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STATES THAT LICENSE CARPENTERS 

  

By: Duke Chen, Associate Analyst  

 

 

ISSUE  

Which states license carpenters? 

SUMMARY 

At least six states (Alabama, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and Utah) require 

people to be licensed to perform certain types of carpentry.        

All of these states require applicants to have a certain amount of work experience 

(ranging from two to four years) and pass a business examination and a specific 

carpentry trade examination.  Additionally, they all require licensees to be bonded, 

have liability insurance, or both.    

ALABAMA 

Alabama law requires contractors to have a specialty license to do framing, 

millwork, finish carpentry, and other similar projects for which the contractor is paid 

more than $5,000.   

An applicant for a carpentry license must document three completed projects, have 

three years of experience in carpentry, and provide proof of liability insurance.  He 

or she must also pass the business and project management examination for 

contractors and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.   

The application fee is $300, plus a $100 construction education fee, and a $96 

examination fee.  The license is renewable every two years for a $200 fee 

(http://genconbd.alabama.gov/FORMS/applications/PrimeApp_w_Citizenship.pdf). 

For more information, see Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractor’s 

website at http://genconbd.alabama.gov/HowtoApply.aspx. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://genconbd.alabama.gov/FORMS/applications/PrimeApp_w_Citizenship.pdf
http://genconbd.alabama.gov/HowtoApply.aspx
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ARIZONA 

Arizona regulations require a contractor to have a specialty carpentry license to 

install or repair hardware, millwork, metal studs, and metal doors or frames (Ariz. 

Admin. Code § R4-9-103).   

Arizona requires all contractors to be bonded, as follows: (1) residential specialty 

contractors, $4,250 for projects valued at less than $375,000 and $7,500 for those 

over $375,000 and (2) commercial specialty contractors, between $2,500 and 

$50,000 for projects ranging from $150,000 or less to over $10 million (Ariz. 

Admin. Code § R4-9-103).   

The applicant must have at least four years of experience and pass the business 

management examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry 

trade. 

The initial application fee is $100 and the biennial license renewal fee is $380.  The 

applicant must also pay a $270 Recovery Fund assessment.   

For more information, see Arizona Registrar of Contractors website at 

http://www.azroc.gov/l_Exp.html. 

CALIFORNIA 

California regulations require carpentry contractors to have a specialty license to 

perform, among other things, certain work that involves framing a building’s 

structural components (Cal. Code Regs. tit. 16, § 832.05).   

The applicant must have at least four years' experience and pass the state law and 

business examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.  

Additionally, California law requires all contractors to file a $12,500 contractor’s 

bond (Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 7071.6). 

The application fee is $300; initial license fee is $180; and biennial renewal fee is 

$360.   

For more information, see California Contractors State License Board’s website at 

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/.  

 

http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-09.pdf
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-09.pdf
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-09.pdf
http://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_04/4-09.pdf
http://www.azroc.gov/l_Exp.html
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I15112A50D48C11DEBC02831C6D6C108E?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=bpc&group=07001-08000&file=7065-7077
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/
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HAWAII 

Hawaii regulations require carpentry contractors to receive a specialty license for 

certain carpentry work, including certain framing or installing, among other things, 

cabinets, doors, and nonbearing partitions that become part of a structure (Haw. 

Code R. § 16-77-32).   

An applicant must have four years of full-time experience within 10 years 

immediately preceding the application and pass an examination on business and 

law and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.  The contractor 

must have a certificate of liability insurance with the following minimum amounts: 

(1) $100,000 for each person and $300,000 for each occurrence of bodily injury 

and (2) $50,000 for each occurrence of property damage (Haw. Code R. § 16-77-

10). 

The license application fee is $50 and the examination fee is $130.  The biennial 

renewal fee is either $415 or $545, depending on when the license is issued.   

For more information, see Hawaii Professional and Vocational Licensing’s website at 

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/.  

NEVADA 

Nevada requires special carpentry licensing for contractors who, among other 

things, install, repair, and finish cabinets; perform framing, rough carpentry, or 

similar work; or install certain doors, insulation, or drywall (Nev. Admin. Code § 

624.210).   

Applicants must post a bond as a condition of licensure (Nev. Rev. Stat. § 624-

270).  The bond amount varies from $1,000 to $500,000 depending on the 

contractor’s financial and professional responsibility and size of the operations. 

An applicant must have four years of full-time experience within the 10 years 

immediately preceding the application and pass a general business and law 

examination and another examination specifically on the carpentry trade.   

The application fee is $300 and the examination fee is $95.  The license is valid for 

two years and renewable for $600. 

For more information, see Nevada State Contractors Board’s website, at 

http://www.nscb.nv.gov/contractor_license_requirements.html. 

http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/har_77-c1.pdf
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/har_77-c1.pdf
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/har_77-c1.pdf
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2013/08/har_77-c1.pdf
http://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/boards/contractor/
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-624.html#NAC624Sec210
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Division/Legal/LawLibrary/NAC/NAC-624.html#NAC624Sec210
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Nrs/NRS-624.html#NRS624Sec270
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Nrs/NRS-624.html#NRS624Sec270
http://www.nscb.nv.gov/contractor_license_requirements.html
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UTAH 

Utah requires a specialty license for anyone who constructs wood or other material 

for structural purposes and is known as a carpenter in the building industry (Utah 

Admin. Code r. 156-55a).   

Contractors must have proof of certain insurance, including liability insurance of at 

least $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 total (Utah Code Ann. § 58-55-302).  

An applicant must have two years of full-time paid employment in the construction 

trade and pass a general business and law examination and another examination 

specifically on the carpentry trade.   

The application fee is $210 and the examination fee is $144.  The license is valid for 

a year and renewable for $113.   

For more information, see Utah Division of Occupational and Professional 

Licensing’s website at http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html. 

DC:bs 

 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r156/r156-55a.htm
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r156/r156-55a.htm
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title58/Chapter55/58-55-S302.html
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/contracting.html

