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STATES THAT PROVIDE CASH REFUNDS FOR 

GIFT CARD BALANCES 

  

By: Duke Chen, Associate Analyst 

 

ISSUE  

Which states require retailers to return a gift card’s remaining cash value to the 

cardholder?  What is the maximum statutory amount they must return? 

SUMMARY 

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), 10 states 

require retailers to provide a cash refund, up to a certain amount, for a gift card’s 

remaining value (see Table 1).  The maximum amounts that these states require 

retailers to redeem range from $0.99 in Rhode Island and Vermont to $9.99 in 

California, with the most common amount being $4.99.   

Table 1: States with Gift Card “Cash-Back” Laws 

State Maximum Amount 

California (Cal. Civ. Code § 1749.5) $9.99 

Colorado (Colo. Rev. Stat. § 6-1-722(b)(2)) 5.00 

Maine (Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 33, § 1953(G)(5)) 4.99 

Massachusetts (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 200A, § 5D) 4.99 

Montana (Mont. Code Ann. § 30-14-108(4)) 4.99 

New Jersey (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 56:8-110(c)) 4.99 

Oregon (Or. Rev. Stat. § 646A.276(1)(d)) 4.99 

Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. Laws § 6-13-12) 0.99 

Vermont (Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 8, § 2704) 0.99 

Washington (Wash. Rev. Code § 19.240.020(3)) 4.99 

                     Source: NCSL: Gift Cards and Gift Certificates Statutes and Legislation  
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