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SOFT DRINK AND CANDY TAXES

STATES TAXING SOFT
DRINKS AND CANDY

Four states levy an excise
tax on soft drinks, but
none levy an excise tax on
candy.

18 jurisdictions tax candy
and 23 tax soft drinks at a
higher sales tax rate than
other groceries.

Since 2013, at least 10
states have considered
imposing taxes on soft
drinks or candy, but none
of those states have
enacted such taxes.

By: Rute Pinho, Principal Analyst

ISSUE

Which states tax soft drinks and candy? How do the
(1) taxes work and (2) states allocate the revenue?
(This report updates OLR report 2012-R-0490.)

Which states have recently proposed taxing soft drinks
or candy? How would the taxes work?

Is there proposed federal legislation to tax soft drinks
or candy? If so, would the legislation impact states
seeking to do so?

SUMMARY

We identified four states (Arkansas, Tennessee,
Virginia, and West Virginia) that levy an excise tax on
soft drinks, but none that levy an excise tax on candy.

All four of the states allocate all or a portion of the tax revenue generated to a
specific purpose. Virginia and Tennessee direct the revenue to litter programs,
while Arkansas and West Virginia direct the revenue to Medicaid and university

programs, respectively.

While most states do not impose excise taxes on candy or soft drinks, many tax
these goods at a higher sales tax rate than other grocery food. Of the 46
jurisdictions (45 states and the District of Columbia) that impose a state sales tax,
18 jurisdictions tax candy and 23 tax soft drinks at a higher rate than other

groceries.
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A search of 2013 and 2014 proposed bills found that at least 10 states (California,
Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Nebraska, New York, Oregon, Rhode
Island, and Vermont) considered imposing taxes on soft drinks or candy, but none
have enacted such taxes. Most recently, Berkeley, California enacted an excise tax
on soft drinks. The $0.01 per ounce tax took effect on January 1, 2015.

Most of the state proposals we examined would have imposed an excise tax on soft
drink distributors, manufacturers, or wholesalers, based on the volume of the
beverage. Hawaii considered a proposal to base the tax on the sugar content of the
beverage. Massachusetts and Nebraska, on the other hand, considered proposals
to tax soft drinks or candy by subjecting them to state sales taxes.

There is currently no proposed federal legislation to tax soft drinks or candy, but in
2014 there was a proposal to tax soft drinks. The Sweetened Beverages Tax
(SWEET) Act (H.R. 5279) would have imposed an excise tax on manufacturers,
producers, and importers of sugar-sweetened beverages. The proposed tax was
$0.01 per teaspoon (4.2 grams) of sugar or other sweeteners contained in such
beverages. It would have dedicated the revenue from the tax to fund programs
and research designed to prevent and treat diabetes, obesity, tooth decay, and
other diet-related diseases. Although the proposal would not have directly
impacted states seeking to impose their own excise taxes on soft drinks, it would
have increased the price of these products, thus potentially influencing both
consumer behavior and the levying of additional state excise taxes.

STATE SOFT DRINK AND CANDY TAXES
Excise Taxes on Soft Drinks

Four states (Arkansas, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia) levy excise taxes on
soft drinks. Table 1 below briefly describes each state’s tax. The states vary in
how they levy the tax. Arkansas and West Virginia base the tax on volume, while
Tennessee and Virginia base it on gross receipts.

All four of the states allocate all or a portion of the tax revenue generated to a
specific purpose. Tennessee and Virginia direct the tax revenues to litter programs,
while Arkansas and West Virginia direct the revenues to Medicaid and university
programs, respectively.
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Table 1: State Excise Taxes on Soft Drinks

State Tax Rate and Base Paid By Use of Revenue
Arkansas e $2 per gallon of soft drink or simple Distributors, Funds the Arkansas
(Ark. syrup manufacturers, and Medicaid Program
Code Ann. | ¢ $0.21 per gallon of bottled or canned wholesale dealers on Trust Fund
§ 26-57- soft drink product the first sale in
901 et e $0.21 for each gallon produced by Arkansas
seq.) powders or base products
Tennessee | 1.9% of gross receipts derived from Manufacturers, bottlers, | 21% of the revenue
(Tenn. manufacturing, producing, or importing and importers of bottled | funds litter
Code Ann. | bottled soft drinks soft drinks prevention and
§ 67-4- collection programs
402)

Virginia Excise tax on gross receipts from soft drink | Wholesalers and Funds the Litter
(Va. Code | sales as follows: distributors of Control and
Ann. § e $50 if the gross receipts are $100,000 or | carbonated soft drinks Recycling Fund
58.1-1700 less
et seq.) e $100 if the gross receipts are between
$100,000 and $250,000
e $250 if the gross receipts are between
$250,000 and $500,000
e $750 if the gross receipts are between
$500,000 and $1,000,000
e $1,500 if the gross receipts are between
$1,000,000 and $3,000,000
e $3,000 if the gross receipts are between
$3,000,000 and $5,000,000
e $4,500 if the gross receipts are between
$5,000,000 and $10,000,000
e $7,200 if the gross receipts are between
$10,000,000 and $25,000,000
e $18,000 if the gross receipts are
between $25,000,000 and $50,000,000
e $33,000 if the gross receipts exceed
$50,000,000
West Excise tax on sales, handling, use, or Manufacturers, Funds West Virginia
Virginia distribution of bottled soft drinks and soft distributors, wholesale University medical,
(W. Va. drink syrup in the state as follows: dealers, retail dealers, dental, and nursing
Code Ann. | ¢ $0.01 on each bottle of 16.9 ounces (1/2 | or any other person schools
§11-19-1 liter) of bottled soft drink who is the original
et seq.) e $0.80 on each gallon of bottled soft drink | consignee of any

syrup

e $0.84 on each four liters of soft drink
syrup

e $0.01 on each ounce of dry mix used to
make soft drinks

bottled soft drink or soft
drink syrup

Sales Taxes on Soft Drinks and Candy

Of the 46 jurisdictions (45 states and the District of Columbia) that impose a state
sales tax, 33 exempt grocery food purchases from the tax and 6 tax such purchases
at a reduced rate. Many of these jurisdictions exclude candy or soft drinks from the
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definition of grocery food, thus making them taxable or subjecting them to the
state's general sales tax rate. Table 2 indicates for each jurisdiction whether

grocery food, candy, or soft drinks are taxable.

Table 2: Taxability of Groceries, Candy, and Soft Drinks Across Jurisdictions

T= Taxable at general sales tax rate, E= Exempt, RR = Taxable at a reduced rate

Jurisdiction State Sales Tax Rate | Grocery Food Candy Soft Drinks
Alabama 4% T T T
Arizona 5.6% E E E
Arkansas 6.5% RR RR RR
California‘ 7.5% E E ™
Colorado 2.9% E T T
Connecticut 6.35% E T T
District of Columbia 5.75% E = T
Florida 6% E T T
Georgia 4% E E E
Hawaii 4% T T T
Idaho 6% T T T
Illinois 6.25% RR T T
Indiana 7% E T T
Iowa 6% E T T
Kansas 6.15% T T T
Kentucky 6% E T T
Louisiana 4% E E E
Maine 5.5% E T T
Maryland 6% E T T
Massachusetts 6.25% E E E
Michigan 6% E E E
Minnesota 6.875% E T T
Mississippi 7% T T T
Missouri 4.225% RR RR RR®
Nebraska 5.5% E E E
Nevada 6.85%. E E E
New Jersey 7% E T T
New Mexico 5.125% E E E
New York 4% E T T
North Carolina 4.75% E T T
North Dakota 5% E T T
Ohio 5.75% E E3 T
Oklahoma 4.5% T T T
Pennsylvania 6% E E T
Rhode Island 7% E T T
South Carolina 6% E E3 E3
South Dakota 4% T T T
Tennessee 7% RR T RR
Texas 6.25% E T T
Utah! 5.95% RR RR RR
Vermont 6% E E E
Virginia® 5.3% RR RR RR
Washington 6.5% E E T
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Jurisdiction State Sales Tax Rate | Grocery Food Candy Soft Drinks
West Virginia 6% E E
Wisconsin 5% E T
Wyoming 4% E E

Source: CCH State Tax Guide, State tax department websites

!State rate includes mandatory, statewide, local add-on sales taxes: California (1%), Utah (1.25%), and Virginia

(1%).

2Candy bars purchased for immediate consumption are taxable when purchased with cash (rather than food

stamps) in quantities of less than 6.

3Sale of candy or soft drinks for consumption on the premises is taxable.

“Only carbonated beverages are taxable; other soft drinks are exempt.

>Taxed at food rate if sold for off-premises consumption by a qualifying establishment.

Table 3 lists the jurisdictions that tax candy and soft drinks at a higher rate than
grocery food. In all, 18 jurisdictions tax candy and 23 tax soft drinks at a higher
rate than other groceries.

Table 3: States that Tax Candy and Soft Drinks at Higher Rates than Groceries

SOFT DRINK AND CANDY TAXES PROPOSED IN 2013 AND 2014

Candy Taxed at Higher

Soft Drinks Taxed at Higher

Rate Rate
Colorado New Jersey California (only  New Jersey
Connecticut New York carbonated New York
Florida North Carolina | beverages) North Carolina
Illinois North Dakota Colorado North Dakota
Indiana Rhode Island Connecticut Ohio
Iowa Tennessee District of Pennsylvania
Kentucky Texas Columbia Rhode Island
Maine Wisconsin Florida Texas
Maryland Illinois Washington
Minnesota Indiana West Virginia
Iowa Wisconsin
Kentucky
Maine
Maryland
Minnesota

At least 10 states proposed taxing soft drinks or candy in 2013 and 2014, but none

of them enacted the taxes. Table 4 lists the states, briefly summarizes each
proposal, and indicates the proposed basis and rate, taxpayer, and use of the

funds.

January 16, 2015

Page 5 of 8

2015-R-0016



Over the two-year period, eight of the states (California, Connecticut, Hawaii,
Illinois, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont) considered 10 bills
imposing an excise tax on soft drinks. With the exception of two bills from
Connecticut and Hawaii, the states proposed imposing the tax on distributors,
manufacturers, or wholesalers and basing it on the volume of the beverage or the
volume of the beverage that soft drink syrups or powders could make. Hawaii
considered a proposal that based the tax on the amount of sugar in the beverage.
Connecticut’s proposal, on the other hand, based the tax on sales price, but did not
specify who would pay it.

Unlike the other states, Massachusetts and Nebraska considered proposals to
subject soft drinks (and candy in the case of Massachusetts) to the existing state
sales and use taxes.

Most of the states proposed using all or a portion of the revenue generated from
the taxes to fund obesity prevention or other public health programs. Illinois and
Vermont also proposed directing a portion of the tax revenue to their Medicaid
programs. One of Hawaii's proposals would have directed the revenue to its
community health centers and trauma system special funds.

Table 4: Recent Soft Drink and Candy Tax Proposals

State and Bill Proposal :?:17215:-’: Im;gl)’sed Proposed Use of Funds

California Excise tax on $0.01 per Distributors Children’s Health Promotion Fund

Senate Bill 622 sugar- ounce (to fund childhood obesity

(2013) sweetened prevention activities and
beverages programs)

Connecticut

Excise tax on

2% of sales

Not specified

Not specified

SB 96 (2014) beverages high price
in calories and
sugar
Hawaii Excise tax on $0.01 per Distributors Community health centers and
SB 646 (2013) sugar- teaspoon of trauma system special funds
sweetened sugar
beverages
Hawaii Excise tax on $1.28 per Distributors Obesity and Chronic Disease
SB 1085 (2013) | sugar- gallon Prevention Special Fund
HB 854 (2013) sweetened
beverages
Illinois Excise tax on $0.01 per Distributors Illinois Wellness Fund (to fund
HB 5690 (2013 | sugar- ounce school health and wellness,
and 2014) sweetened obesity prevention, and other
beverages public health programs) and
Medicaid program
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http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB622
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB622
http://cga.ct.gov/2014/TOB/S/2014SB-00096-R00-SB.htm
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2013/bills/SB646_.htm
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2013/Bills/SB1085_SD1_.PDF
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2013/Bills/HB854_.pdf
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/fulltext.asp?DocName=&SessionId=85&GA=98&DocTypeId=HB&DocNum=5690&GAID=12&LegID=&SpecSess=&Session=
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/fulltext.asp?DocName=&SessionId=85&GA=98&DocTypeId=HB&DocNum=5690&GAID=12&LegID=&SpecSess=&Session=

State and Bill Proposal Uil LR Imposed Proposed Use of Funds
and Rate Oon
Massachusetts | Sales and use 6.25% of Consumers Prevention and Wellness Trust
HB 2634 (2013) | tax on soft sales price Fund (to fund public health
drinks and programs)
candy
Nebraska Sales and use 5.5% of Consumers Nebraska Healthy Kids Fund (to
LB 447 (2013) tax on soft sales price fund student fitness and school
drinks district wellness programs) and
local health departments
New York Excise tax on $0.01 per Distributors Children’s Health Promotion Fund
HB 7432 (2013) | sugar- ounce (to fund childhood obesity
sweetened prevention activities and
beverages programs)
Oregon Excise tax on $0.005 per Distributors/ | Healthy nutrition, physical
HB 2331 (2013) | sugar- ounce Manufacturer | education, and public health
sweetened s programs and activities
beverages
Rhode Island Excise tax on $1.28 per Distributors/ | Prevention and Wellness Trust
HB 5228 (2013) | sugar- gallon Manufacturer | Fund (to fund health and
sweetened s/ wellness programs, including
beverages Wholesalers grants to towns, community-
based organizations, and health
care providers)
Vermont Excise tax on $0.01 per Distributors Vermont Healthy Weight
HB 234 (2013) sugar- ounce Initiative Fund (to fund obesity
sweetened prevention programs) and
beverages Medicaid
Sources: UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity’s Legislation Database; Westlaw search; state legislative
websites
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