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VETERANS' PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS 

 

By: Duke Chen, Associate Analyst 

 

 

ISSUE  

Provide an overview of Connecticut’s veterans’ property tax exemptions. 

SUMMARY 

The law requires municipalities to give wartime veterans and their surviving 

spouses certain property tax exemptions, commonly referred to as state-mandated 

exemptions. With their legislative bodies' approval, municipalities may grant an 

additional exemption, commonly referred to as a local-option exemption.  The 

exemption amount is a reduction in the property's assessed value on which taxes 

are owed, not a credit against the amount of the tax. 

Additionally, the law requires municipalities to increase state-mandated and local-

option exemptions if a revaluation done on and after October 1, 1990 results in a 

grant list increase (CGS § 12-62g).  (For more information on property tax 

revaluation, see OLR Report 2014-R-0280.) 

Veterans rated by the U.S. Veterans Administration (VA) as having a disability are 

eligible for property tax exemptions over and above those available to other 

veterans, provided they meet specified criteria. The exemption amount depends on 

the severity of the disability and other factors, including the veteran's income. 

Veterans’ exemptions are not automatic.  By law, eligible claimants must apply for 

them and provide proof of eligibility. 

GENERAL VETERANS’ PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS 

Eligibility  

A veteran is eligible for a property tax exemption if he or she served for at least 90 

days (cumulative) in the U.S. Armed Forces or any government associated with the 

United States during specified periods and actions (see Attachment 1). Veterans 

still in the service are eligible if they meet the 90-day war service requirement, and 

those who retire after 30 years of service are also eligible. World War II veterans 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-62g
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/rpt/pdf/2014-R-0280.pdf
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with certain Merchant Marine Service and military service with allied armies also 

qualify. A veteran's spouse is ordinarily entitled to the property tax exemption for 

which the deceased veteran qualified. A sole surviving parent and the minor child of 

a veteran (who died while serving in the armed forces or after receiving an 

honorable discharge) is also entitled to an exemption (CGS § 12-81(19)). 

State-Mandated Exemptions 

The main state-mandated veterans’ property tax exemptions in Connecticut are 

granted through two statutes:  CGS § 12-81(19) requires municipalities to exempt 

from taxation $1,000 of the property owned by a veteran or his or her surviving 

spouse. CGS § 12-81g requires municipalities to give veterans who get the basic 

exemption an additional income-based exemption.  For a veteran whose income 

falls below a certain statutorily determined limit, the additional exemption is equal 

to twice the basic exemption (CGS § 12-81g(a)). For a veteran whose income 

exceeds the limit, the additional exemption is 50% of the basic exemption (CGS § 

12-81g(d)).  

By law, the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) updates the income limits 

annually to reflect the amount of the Social Security Administration's cost-of-living 

adjustment (CGS §§ 12-81l & 12-170aa(b)(2)).  The 2014 income limits for 

nondisabled veterans were $34,600 for unmarried veterans and $42,200 for 

married veterans (joint income) (see OPM Question and Answer Booklet for Tax 

Relief Programs). Thus, a non-disabled, unmarried veteran whose income is 

$34,600 or less is entitled to a $3,000 exemption; if the veteran's income is above 

$34,600, the exemption is $1,500. 

Local-Option Exemption 

A municipality, with its legislative body's approval, may provide an additional 

exemption to veterans entitled to the state-mandated exemptions and may 

establish a higher income limit for this exemption than the limit in effect for the 

state-mandated additional exemption (CGS § 12-81f).  Municipalities that offer this 

optional exemption can establish an income limit of up to $25,000 over the state-

mandated exemption income limits. 

The exemption may be a dollar (up to $10,000) or percentage (10%) reduction in 

the property's assessed value.  Thus, in a municipality that offers the maximum 

10% exemption, a veteran whose house is assessed at $200,000 is eligible for a 

$20,000 exemption.  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81L
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_204a.htm#sec_12-170aa
http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/OWNERS_Q&A_2015.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/opm/lib/opm/OWNERS_Q&A_2015.pdf
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81f
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EXEMPTIONS FOR VETERANS WITH DISABILITIES 

Veterans with a VA disability rating of 10% or more are eligible for exemptions 

ranging from a minimum of $1,500 to $3,000, irrespective of the cause of the 

disability. Veterans with a severe, service-related disability rating are eligible for 

exemptions ranging from a minimum of $5,000 to $10,000. Veterans in the latter 

category may claim both exemptions, provided they meet the criteria for the first 

exemption. 

Exemption for Disabled Veterans  

The law provides property tax exemptions to veterans with a VA-rated disability of 

at least 10% (CGS § 12-81(20)). (The disability does not have to be service-

related, and unlike the exemptions for non-disabled veterans, the veteran does not 

have to have served during wartime to qualify.) 

The disability ratings and minimum exemption amounts are as follows: 

Disability Rating Exemption Amount 

10%-25% $1,500 

26%-50% 2,000 

51%-75% 2,500 

76%-100% 3,000 

At least 10% if age 65 

or older 

3,000 

 

The exemption increases automatically when the veteran reaches age 65. Even if 

the veteran’s disability is only 10%, the exemption increases to $3,000, as of the 

October 1 after the veteran turns 65. 

Exemptions for Severe Service-Connected Disabilities 

Veterans with severe, service-connected disabilities are eligible for a state-

mandated property tax exemption (CGS § 12-81(21)).  The minimum exemption 

amount is $5,000 for the loss of the use of an arm or a leg or $10,000 for: 

1. permanent loss of use of both legs or permanent paralysis of both legs 
and lower parts of the body; 

2. permanent paralysis of one leg and one arm on either side of the body 

resulting from injury of the spinal cord, skeletal structure, or brain or 
from spinal cord disease; 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
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3. amputation of both arms, both legs, both hands, or both feet or a 
combination of a hand and a foot; or 

4. total blindness. 

The exemption can be applied only to a veteran’s residence (the dwelling and lot). 

If the residence is not a single-family home, the exemption can be applied only to 

the part of the building and lot the veteran occupies. In the case of a married 

couple, either spouse may own, hold life use in, or be the beneficiary of a trust with 

respect to the property. But the property must be the veteran’s domicile or 

permanent residence. 

Additional Income-Based Exemption 

CGS § 12-81g requires municipalities to give veterans who receive a disability or 

severe service-connected exemption an additional income-based exemption.  For a 

veteran whose income falls (1) below a certain statutorily determined limit, the 

additional exemption is equal to twice the exemption (CGS § 12-81g(a)) and (2) 

above the limit, the additional exemption is 50% of the exemption (CGS § 12-

81g(d)). For 100% disabled veterans, the law statutorily sets the limit at $18,000 

for unmarried veterans and $21,000 for married veterans, while others with 

disabilities have the limit set by OPM (see above). 

The law allows a municipality, with its legislative body's approval, to increase the 

additional exemption from double to triple the allowed exemption for any veteran 

who has a 100% disability rating and meets the above income limits (CGS § 12-

81g(b)).   

Other Local-Option Exemptions  

Specially Equipped Motor Vehicle. The law allows a municipality to grant a 

property tax exemption, in an amount it determines, on one motor vehicle owned 

by a veteran who qualifies for an exemption for a disability under CGS § 12-81(20) 

or a severe service-connected disability under CGS § 12-81(21). The vehicle must 

be specially equipped to accommodate the veteran's disability (CGS § 12-81h). 

Specially Adapted House. The law allows municipalities to completely exempt 

from property taxes a veteran's house and house lot acquired or modified under a 

federal financial aid program for specially adapted housing for veterans (CGS § 12-

81(21)(C)). (A specially adapted home is one outfitted to make it suitable for 

someone who has lost his limbs or eyesight.) 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81g
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81h
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#sec_12-81
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ATTACHMENT 1: POST-1940 “SERVICE IN TIME OF WAR” 

Operation Date Service Condition 

World War II 12/07/41-12/31/47* Active service during the war 

Korean War 06/27/50-01/31/55 Active service during the war 

Lebanon Conflict 07/01/58-11/01/58 or 
09/29/82-03/30/84 

Combat or combat-support role in Lebanon  

Vietnam Era 02/28/61-07/01/75 Active service during the war 

Grenada invasion 10/25/83-12/15/83 Combat or combat-support role in Grenada required 

Operation Earnest Will (escort 
of Kuwaiti tankers flying U.S. 
flag in Persian Gulf) 

07/24/87-08/01/90 Combat or combat-support role required in the 
operation 

Panama invasion 12/20/89-01/31/90 Combat or combat-support role required in the 
invasion 

Persian Gulf War 08/02/1990 until a 
date prescribed by the 
President or law  

Active service anywhere during the war (not 
necessarily in the Persian Gulf or in a combat role) 

 *Ending dates specified in CGS § 12-86 for property tax exemptions.  

 

DC:jk 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_203.htm#Sec12-86.htm

