Connecticut State Capitol
The Capitol was opened in 1878 and stands in the
picturesque setting of Bushnell Park. (Construction 1872 - 1879)
Designed by Richard M. Upjohn, a cathedral
architect, this High Victorian Gothic style statehouse was
designated a Registered National Historic Landmark in 1971 and
underwent a restoration between 1979 and 1989.
The exterior marble from East Canaan, Connecticut and granite
from Westerly, Rhode island is accented by a gold leaf dome.
The interior floors of the Capitol are inlaid with white marble
and red slate from Connecticut and colored marble from Italy.
The stenciling, stained-glass windows and light fixtures were
designed by Boston interior decorator William James McPherson.
This beautiful and unique building houses the executive offices
and legislative chambers of the state, as well as historical
memorabilia including statues of Nathan Hale, "The Genius of
Connecticut" and Governor William Buckingham.