Location:
COURTS - SMALL CLAIMS;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


January 18, 2013

 

2013-R-0070

SMALL CLAIMS COURT LIMITS

By: Christopher Reinhart, Chief Attorney

You asked when Connecticut last increased the limit for small claims court actions and the limits in other states.

Connecticut last increased its limit for small claims actions in 2005, when PA 05-42 increased the limit from $3,500 to $5,000.  A higher limit applies in cases involving housing security deposits (CGS 51-15(d)).

We compiled information on small claims courts in other states. These courts use different names in different states. Regardless of name, we looked at the court with the lowest jurisdictional limit in each state. We also focused on the general limit imposed on the court's jurisdiction, although states may have exceptions with higher or lower limits for specific types of claims.

Based on our survey, small claims court limits range from $2,500 in Rhode Island to $25,000 in Tennessee. Twenty-four states have a limit higher than Connecticut's.  Connecticut and 16 other states have a $5,000 limit.  Nine states have a limit lower than Connecticut's. Table one displays the limits in each state, organized from highest to lowest.

Table 1: Small Claims Court Limits in Each State

From Highest to Lowest

State

Limit

State

Limit

State

Limit

Tennessee

$25,000

Oklahoma

$7,500

New York

$5,000

Delaware

$15,000

South Carolina

$7,500

North Carolina

$5,000

Georgia

$15,000

Massachusetts

$7,000

North Dakota

$5,000

Pennsylvania

$12,000

Montana

$7,000

Vermont

$5,000

South Dakota

$12,000

Indiana

$6,000

Virginia

$5,000

Alaska

$10,000

Maine

$6,000

Washington

$5,000

California

$10,000

Wyoming

$6,000

West Virginia

$5,000

Illinois

$10,000

Arkansas

$5,000

Kansas

$4,000

Minnesota*

$10,000

Connecticut

$5,000

Mississippi

$3,500

New Mexico

$10,000

Florida

$5,000

Nebraska

$3,500

Oregon

$10,000

Hawaii

$5,000

Alabama

$3,000

Texas

$10,000

Idaho

$5,000

New Jersey

$3,000

Utah

$10,000

Iowa

$5,000

Ohio

$3,000

Wisconsin

$10,000

Louisiana

$5,000

Arizona

$2,500

Colorado

$7,500

Maryland

$5,000

Kentucky

$2,500

Nevada

$7,500

Michigan**

$5,000

Rhode Island

$2,500

New Hampshire

$7,500

Missouri

$5,000

 

 

*Minnesota's small claims court limit will increase to $15,000 in August

2014.

**Michigan's small claims court limit will increase to $5,500 in 2015,

$6,000 in 2018, $6,500 in 2021, and $7,000 in 2024.

CR:mp