Location:
CRIME AND CRIMINALS;
Scope:
Connecticut laws/regulations;

OLR Research Report


August 17, 2012

 

2012-R-0358

UNCLASSIFIED FELONIES

By: Christopher Reinhart, Chief Attorney

You asked for a list of unclassified felonies.

SUMMARY

Felonies are offenses punishable by more than one year in prison. The law classifies felonies based on severity as class A, B, or C. But there are other felonies that are not designated under one of these classes. Many of these “unclassified felonies” carry the same range of possible prison terms as classified felonies but others do not. In addition, many have different maximum fines than those set for classified felonies.

We identified 262 unclassified felonies using the database of criminal charges provided to us by the Judicial Branch last year and updating it with changes from the 2012 session.

PENALTIES FOR CLASSIFIED FELONIES

Terms of imprisonment in Connecticut must be for specific periods of time. Table 1 shows the range within which the judge must set the specific sentence for classified felonies (CGS 53a-35a and -41). A judge may suspend all or part of a prison sentence unless the statute specifies that it is a mandatory minimum sentence. The judge also sets the exact amount of a fine, up to the established limits. A judge may impose a fine, a term or imprisonment, or both.

Table 1: Penalties for Classified Felonies

Classification

Prison Term

Maximum Fine

Class A felony (murder with special circumstances)

Life in prison without release

 

Class A felony (murder)

25 to 60 years

$20,000

Class A felony

10 to 25 years

$20,000

Class B felony*

1 to 20 years

$15,000

Class C felony

1 to 10 years

$10,000

Class D felony

1 to 5 years

$5,000

*Except 1st degree manslaughter with a firearm which carries a maximum prison term of 40 years.

In addition to the penalties in Table 1, certain penalties may be enhanced for persistent offenders

UNCLASSIFIED FELONIES AND THEIR PENALTIES

Table 2 displays all of the unclassified felonies, their citations, and their penalties, organized in descending order by maximum prison penalty. In some instances, a crime has different penalties for second and subsequent convictions. We indicate whether a penalty is for a 1st offense, 2nd offense, or subsequent offense (SBS). We also indicate, with an “m,” when a crime carries a mandatory minimum sentence.

Table 2: Unclassified Felonies Organized by Maximum Penalty

CGS

Description

Prison Term

Fine

Min.

Max.

Min.

Max.

21a-277(a)

Selling hallucinogens or narcotics (2nd)*

0

Y

30

Y

$ -

$100,000

21a-277(a)

Selling hallucinogens or narcotics (3rd/SBS)*

0

Y

30

Y

$ -

$250,000

21a-278(b)

Selling narcotics or certain other drugs—nondependent person (2nd/SBS)*

10 (m2)

Y

25

Y

$ -

$ -

21a-279(a)

Possessing narcotics (3rd/SBS)*

0

Y

25

Y

$ -

$250,000

The crimes in the section below have maximum penalties of between 15 and 20 years.

21a-278(b)

Selling narcotics or certain other drugs—nondependent person (1st)

5 (m2)

Y

20

Y

$ -

$ -

33-1333(b)(2)

Willfully certifying a false financial statement

0

Y

20

Y

$ -

$5,000,000

53-202(b)

Possessing or using machine gun in a violent crime

10

Y

20

Y

$ -

$ -

53-395

Violating the corrupt organizations & racketeering act (penalty in 53-397)

1

Y

20

Y

$ -

$25,000

21a-277(a)

Selling hallucinogens or narcotics (1st)*

0

Y

15

Y

$ -

$50,000

21a-277(b)

Selling controlled substances (2nd/SBS)*

0

Y

15

Y

$ -

$100,000

21a-279(a)

Possessing narcotics (2nd)*

0

Y

15

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-131a(d)

Certain hazardous waste violations-imminent danger

0

Y

15

Y

$ -

$250,000

The crimes in the section below have maximum penalties of between six and 10 years.

12-308

Fraudulent cigarette tax stamps

1

Y

10

Y

$ -

$5,000

14-224(a) and (f)

Evading responsibility-death/serious injury (fine doubled in C/U zone)

1

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

19a-32d(b)

Cloning/using human embryo

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$100,000

21a-245

Violate restricted substances requirements (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-246

Making controlled substances without a license (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-251

Illegally dispensing controlled substances-hospital (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-252

Illegally prescribing or dispensing controlled substances (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-255(b)

Intentionally failing to keep drug records (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-256

Violating controlled substance label requirements (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-257

Failing to keep narcotics in containers (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-266

Controlled substance-certain prohibited acts (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-277(c)

Operating a drug factory (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 21a-255(b))

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-279(b)

Possessing a hallucinogen or more than 4 oz. marijuana (2nd/SBS)*

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$5,000

22a-131a(b)

Violating hazardous waste permit/regulations (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$100,000 per day

22a-438(c)

Knowingly violating water pollution control requirements (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$100,000 per day

22a-438(e)

Illegally discharging gasoline (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$100,000 per day

22a-628(b)

Violating mercury requirements (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

29-324

Violating flammable liquid regulations-causing death/injury

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

29-348

Illegally possession of explosives

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

29-349(b)

Using explosives without a permit

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

29-349(c)

Storing explosives without a permit

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

29-349(d)

Illegally procuring or transporting explosives

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

33-1333(b)(1)

Certifying a false financial statement

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$1,000,000

36b-4

Fraudulently selling securities (penalty in 36b-28)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

36b-5

Illegal acts by investment advisers (penalty in 36b-28)

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

36b-28(a)

Violating the uniform securities act

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

36b-67(6)

Business opportunity investment fraud (penalty in 36b-73(a))

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$25,000

53-202(c)(1)

Using a machine gun for an aggressive purpose

5

Y

10

Y

$ -

$1,000

53-202(c)(2)

Transferring, selling, or giving a machine gun to someone under age 16

5

Y

10

Y

$ -

$1,000

53-247(e)

Killing a peace officer animal

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

53-388a(b)

Using a scanning device

1

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

53-388a(c)

Using a reencoder

1

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

54-33d

Interfering with a search-deadly weapon

0

Y

10

Y

$ -

$10,000

21a-277(b)

Selling controlled substances (1st)*

0

Y

7

Y

$ -

$25,000

21a-279(a)

Possessing narcotics (1st)*

0

Y

7

Y

$ -

$50,000

12-652

Possessing an unstamped drug (penalty in 12-660)

0

Y

6

Y

$ -

$10,000

12-660

Failing to pay marijuana or drug tax

0

Y

6

Y

$ -

$10,000

The crimes in the section below have a maximum penalty of five years.

1-103

Hindering legislation by threat

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

10-390

Illegal acts at archeological or sacred sites

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000 or twice value to restore site

12-206(e)

Insurance, hospital, or medical corporation tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-231(b)

Corporation business tax

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-268e(b)

Public service company tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-304(b)

Avoiding tax on over 20,000 cigarettes

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-306b(b)

Cigarette tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-321

Cigarette use/storage tax fraud (refers to 12-304 for penalty)

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-330f(c)

Willfully avoiding tobacco taxes

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-330j(b)

Tobacco products tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-405d(g)

Estate income tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-428(2)

Sales/use tax return fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-452(b)

Alcoholic beverage tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-464(b)

Motor vehicle fuels tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-482(b)

Motor carrier road tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-519(b)

Dividend, interest, and capital gains tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-551(b)

Admission or cabaret tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-591(b)

Petroleum products tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-638g(b)

Controlling interest transfer tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

12-737(b)

State income tax fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

14-149(f)

Altering a motor vehicle identification number (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

14-149a

Operating a chop shop

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

14-149a

Operating a chop shop (SBS)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$10,000

14-196(a)

Motor vehicle title certificate fraud

1

Y

5

Y

$500

$1,000

14-299a(f)

Traffic signal preemption device violations causing an accident

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$15,000

15-69

Tampering with an airport or equipment

0

Y

5

Y

$200

$1,000

16-33

False statement-report to public utility regulators

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

16a-18(a)

Creating a fuel shortage

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

17a-274

False statement-involuntary commitment

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

17a-504

False statement-mentally ill commitment

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

17a-83

False statement-commit child to hospital

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

17b-30

Illegally releasing biometric identification

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

19a-324

False statement-cremation

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

19a-324

Illegally removing a body for cremation

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

19a-324

Violating cremation requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

19a-32d(c)

Violating embryo/egg/sperm disposal requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000

20-102

Practicing nursing without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-126

Practicing dentistry without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-126t

Practicing dental hygiene without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-138a

Practicing optometry without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-161

Violating optician requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-185i (PA 11-228)

Misrepresenting self as board certified behavior analyst

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-193

Practicing psychology without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-206p

Illegally using dietitian or nutritionist title

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-23

Practicing osteopathy without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-329x

Prohibited acts-real estate

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

20-33

Practicing chiropractic without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-395h

Violating audiologist requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-417

Violating speech pathology or audiology requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-42

Practicing natureopathy without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-581

Violating the pharmacy practice act

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

20-605

Practicing pharmacy without a license (penalty in 20-581)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

20-65

Practicing podiatry without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-73

Practicing physical therapy without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-74f

Practicing occupational therapy without a license

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

20-9

Practicing medicine without a license (penalty in 20-14)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

21a-279(b)

Possessing hallucinogens or more than 4 oz marijuana (1st)*

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$2,000

21a-279(c)

Possessing controlled substances or between .5 and 4 oz. marijuana (2nd/SBS)*

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$3,000

22a-131a(a)

Violating the hazardous waste records requirements (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-131a(b)

Violating hazardous waste permit or order requirements (1st)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-131a(c)

Violating used oil requirements (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$100,000 per day

22a-208a

Violating waste facility requirements (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-208a

Violating waste facility requirements-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-208c

Handling waste without a permit (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-208c

Handling waste without permit-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-209

Violating solid waste management regulations 2nd/(SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-209

Violating solid waste management regulations -imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-225

Violating a waste abatement order (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-225

Violating a waste abatement order-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-231

Violating resources recovery regulations (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-231

Violating resources recovery regulations-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-250(c)

Illegal dumping-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-250(c)

Illegal dumping (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-250(d)

Illegal dumping bulky or hazardous waste-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-250(d)

Illegal dumping bulky of hazardous waste (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-252

Illegally disposing of asbestos (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-252

Illegally disposing of asbestos-imminent danger (2nd/SBS) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

22a-376(c)

Perjury-water diversion hearing

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$15,000

22a-376(c)

Tampering-water diversion evidence

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$15,000

28-22

Damaging civil preparedness equipment

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

29-35(a)

Carrying a pistol without a permit (penalty in 29-37(b))

1 (m1)

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

29-353

Illegally possessing unlabelled explosives

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$10,000

29-36

Illegally altering firearm identification

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

29-37j(a)

Purchasing a firearm for an illegal transfer (D felony if committed after prior felony conviction in past five years)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

29-38

Illegally possessing a weapon in a motor vehicle

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

31-12

Illegal hours of labor-manufacturing or mechanical work (penalty in 31-15 and 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-13

Illegal hours of labor-mercantile work (penalty in 31-15 and 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-14

Illegally employing a minor at night (penalty in 31-15 and 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-15

Parent permitting illegal employment of minor (penalty in 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-18

Illegal hours of labor-other establishments (penalty in 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-18(b)

Failing to post hours (penalty in 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-23

Illegally employing a minor in certain work (penalty in 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-24

Illegally employing a minor in hazardous work (penalty in 31-15a)

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-69(b)

Failing to pay wages over $2,000

0

Y

5

Y

$4,000

$10,000

31-71b

Failing to pay wages under $2,000

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

31-71g

Violating wage payment requirements over $2,000

0

Y

5

Y

$2,000

$5,000

36b-51

Violating the tender offer act

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

38a-140

False statement-holding company officer

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$50,000

40-51

Illegally issuing a warehouse receipt

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

40-53

Illegally duplicating a warehouse receipt

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

41-47

Fraudulently issuing a bill of lading

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

41-49

Illegally issuing a duplicate bill of lading

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

41-51

Illegally transferring a bill of lading

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

41-52

Soliciting an illegal bill of lading

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

41-53

Improper nonnegotiable bill of lading

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

42-232

Violating a supply emergency order

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

42-232

Repeatedly violating a supply emergency order

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

45a-729

Illegally placing a child for adoption

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

49-8a(h)

Recording a false affidavit on land records

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

4d-39(d)

Violate nondisclosure requirements-Department of Information Technology contract

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-20(a)(1)

Intentional cruelty to persons

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-20(b)(1)

Intentional cruelty to child under age 19

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-200

Illegal prize fighting

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

53-23

Abandoning a child

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

53-247(a), amended by PA 12-86

Animal cruelty (2nd and SBS)

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-247(b)

Maliciously wounding or killing an animal

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-247(c)

Using an animal for fighting

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-247(d)

Injuring a peace officer animal

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

53-320

Distributing noxious seed or poisons

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

53-334

Unlawful disinterment

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$2,000

53-341

Illegally using the title of physician, surgeon, doctor, or osteopath

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

53-347a(a)

Forging a stamp or label

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

53-347a(b)

Affixing a fraudulent marking

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

53-347a(c)

Using a counterfeit marking

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$250,000

54-142c

False statement-obtaining criminal history

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

7-64

Violating requirements for disposal of a dead body

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

7-66

Violating a sexton's burial duties

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$500

9-264

Illegally assisting a disabled voter

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

9-306

Violating ballot laws

0

Y

5

Y

$100

$1,000

9-352

Tampering by an election official

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

9-353

False return by an election officer

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$1,000

9-354

Improperly printing a ballot label

0

Y

5

Y

$100

$1,000

9-623

Violating campaign financing requirements

0

Y

5

Y

$ -

$5,000

PA 12-135

Using zappers or phantom-ware

1

Y

5

Y

$ -

$100,000

The crimes in the section below have a maximum penalty of less than five years.

14-149(f)

Altering a motor vehicle identification number or possessing a vehicle with an altered number (1st)

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$2,500

14-215(c)(3)

Operating a motor vehicle under suspension for third or subsequent alcohol-related offense (fines double in C/U zone)

1 (m1)

Y

3

Y

$500

$1,000

14-227a

Driving under the influence (3rd/SBS)(fines doubled in C/U zone)

1 (m)

Y

3

Y

$2,000

$8,000

14-227g

Driving under the influence-.02 BAC for someone under age 21 (3rd/SBS)

1 (m)

Y

3

Y

$2,000

$8,000

15-133

Operating a vessel under the influence (3rd/SBS)

1 (m)

Y

3

Y

$2,000

$8,000

22-126

Illegally entering a horse in a race

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$1,000

22-351

Stealing, killing, or injuring a companion animal (SBS or multiple animals)

1

Y

3

Y

$ -

$2,000

22a-438(c)

Knowingly violating water pollution control requirements

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$50,000

22a-438(e)

Illegally discharging gasoline

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$50,000

22a-628(b)

Knowingly violating mercury requirements (1st)

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

29-28

Violating pistol permit requirements (penalty in 29-37)

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$500

29-31

Failing to display gun sales permit (penalty in 29-37)

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$500

31-48a

Hiring professional strikebreakers

0

Y

3

Y

$100

$1,000

36a-229

Failing to deliver records to bank receiver

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$10,000

51-87(a)

Illegally soliciting cases for attorney

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$1,000

51-87(b)

Illegally receiving payment for an attorney referral

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$1,000

51-87b

Illegal referral to real estate broker (penalty in 51-87)

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$1,000

53-202f

Illegally transporting an assault weapon

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$500

53-206

Carrying a dangerous weapon

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$500

53-368

False certification re oath

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$1,000

9-355

Willful neglect of election duty or fraud

0

Y

3

Y

$ -

$2,000

10-51

Fraudulent voting-school budget

1

Y

2

Y

$300

$500

14-196(b)

Willfully misusing a motor vehicle title certificate

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

14-215(c)(2)

Operating a motor vehicle under suspension for a 2nd alcohol-related offense (fines doubled in C/U zone)

120 (m1)

D

2

Y

$500

$1,000

14-227a

Driving under the influence (2nd)(fines doubled in C/U zone)

120 (m)

D

2

Y

$1,000

$4,000

14-227g

Driving under the influence-.02 BAC for person under age 21 (2nd)

120

(m)

D

2

Y

$1,000

$4,000

15-133

Operating a vessel under the influence (2nd)

120

(m)

D

2

Y

$1,000

$4,000

15-140l

Reckless boating under the influence

0

Y

2

Y

$2,500

$5,000

15-173(c)

Illegally discharging sewage (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

16-50ii (PA 11-101(1))

Violating electric generating facility requirements

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

21a-165

Selling defective oil

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$300

21a-245

Violating restricted substances requirements (1st) (penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-246

Making controlled substances without a license (1st)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-251

Illegally dispensing controlled substances-hospital (1st)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-252

Illegally prescribing or dispensing controlled substances (1st)(penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-255(b)

Failing to keep drug records with intent to violate the drug laws (1st)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-256

Violating the controlled substance labeling requirements (1st) (penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-257

Failing to keep narcotics in containers (1st) (penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-266

Committing certain controlled substance violations (1st) (penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

21a-277(c)

Operating a drug factory (1st) (penalty in 21a-255)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

22a-131a(a)

Violating hazardous waste record requirements (1st)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-131a(c)

Violating used oil requirements (1st)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-175(a)

Violating air pollution requirements (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-208a

Violating solid waste facility requirements (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-208a

Violating waste facility requirements-imminent danger (1st) (penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-208c

Handling solid waste without a permit (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-208c

Handling solid waste without permit-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-209

Violating solid waste management regulations (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-209

Violating solid waste management regulations-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-225

Violating a solid waste abatement order (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-225

Violating a solid waste abatement order-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-231

Violating resources recovery regulations (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-231

Violating resources recovery regulations-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-250(c)

Illegal dumping (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-250(c)

Illegal dumping-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-250(d)

Illegal dumping-bulky or hazardous waste (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-250(d)

Illegal dumping-bulky or hazardous waste-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-252

Illegally disposing of asbestos (1st)(penalty in 22a-226a)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000 per day

22a-252

Illegally disposing of asbestos-imminent danger (1st)(penalty in 22a-226b)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$100,000

22a-438(b)

Violating water pollution control laws (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-438(d)

False statement-water pollution control

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$25,000

22a-469

Violating PCB sale requirements (2nd/SBS)(penalty in 22-438)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

22a-628(a)

Violating mercury restrictions with criminal negligence (2nd/SBS)

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$50,000 per day

29-152

Violating professional bondsmen requirements

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

30-99

Selling adulterated liquor

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

36b-16

Offering or selling unregistered securities

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-23

False or misleading statement violating the uniform securities act

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-28(b)

Violating the uniform securities act

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-6

Violating uniform security act requirements

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-62

Violating the business opportunity investment act

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-63

Violating disclosure requirements of the business opportunity investment act

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

36b-73(b)

Violating the business opportunity investment act

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$2,000

38a-140(c)(1)

Insurers-acquiring a controlling interest-fraud

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$3,000

38a-658

Violating credit life, accident, or health insurance requirements

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,500

53-201

Illegally aiding a prize fight

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$500

53a-209

Violating an injunction-obscene matters

0

Y

2

Y

$ -

$1,000

30-86

Delivering liquor to a minor

0

M

18

M

$ -

$1,500

SBS=subsequent offense

* The law authorizes an alternative, indeterminate sentence for this offense.

m=mandatory minimum sentence

m1=This mandatory minimum sentence applies absent mitigating circumstances.

m2=The court may suspend this mandatory minimum sentences under certain circumstances (see CGS 21a-278(b) and -283a).

C/O=The law doubles the fine for this crime if committed in a construction or utility zone

CR:ts